PDA

View Full Version : Photo Help


DisneyDetective
05-13-2011, 01:34 PM
I need some advice for my camera. I own a Canon 400 and i've just experienced some probs with the photos its taking. The auto button doesn't seem to want to take pictures and when it does it takes ones like these (sometimes 3 of the same):
http://i210.photobucket.com/albums/bb213/da07dda/IMG_4305.jpg
and when i use other settings i still get photos like:
http://i210.photobucket.com/albums/bb213/da07dda/IMG_4302.jpg
but randomly, some of the photos are clear as day.

zackiedawg
05-13-2011, 01:53 PM
Are the problem photos always in lower light, indoor type conditions? Or is it doing the same thing outside in bright sunny conditions?

If always in lower indoor type lighting, it could be the autofocus system struggling to find proper focus in the lower light - in Auto modes you are usually set by default to the multipoint focus grid which cannot be pointed to one specific area to focus on, and if paired with a slowish kit lens, there just may not be enough light for the AF system to cope.

disneyboy2003
05-13-2011, 01:57 PM
Looks like all your pictures are out-of-focus. Can you check to see if your lens is still set on "Autofocus (AF)" and not on "Manual Focus (MF)"? There should be a switch on the side of your lens. Sometimes, my fingers accidentally switch the lens from AF to MF, and I don't know until I get a bunch of blurry pictures later.

DisneyDetective
05-13-2011, 02:00 PM
it was happening outside too. my brother took it to Edinburgh outside and got same results. will check AF switch, never thought of that. :goodvibes

Rental01
05-13-2011, 02:12 PM
Looks like all your pictures are out-of-focus. Can you check to see if your lens is still set on "Autofocus (AF)" and not on "Manual Focus (MF)"? There should be a switch on the side of your lens. Sometimes, my fingers accidentally switch the lens from AF to MF, and I don't know until I get a bunch of blurry pictures later.

I'll 2nd this

DisneyDetective
05-13-2011, 02:16 PM
it's on AF. when you take a photo it focuses 3 times, takes a picture but takes forever to come up on screen. wonder if i can reset the camera.

Rental01
05-13-2011, 02:26 PM
It shouldn't take that long to focus - it's acting like it can't find anything to focus on and giving up. I'd try it with another lens. If you don't have another lens, take it to a local camera store and ask to try a different lens on the camera to see if you get the same issue.

Also, have you cleaned your sensor? Many people try to do that to fix these problems only to damage the sensor or the filters on the top of the sensor and it wrecks the ability of the camera to focus or function appropriately. If you're not very familiar with dSLR cameras I would strongly recommend against doing so.

You can try a reset on the camera if you'd like:

Turn the camera to any automatic setting (Green square, [P], etc)
Press ( ) Menu
Go to the 2nd configuration tab
Select [Clear all camera settings]
Press (set)

zackiedawg
05-13-2011, 02:30 PM
Also, you can try switching to P, A, or S mode, and going into the 'focus area' menu to select the center AF mode. Then, try aiming at something that is well illuminated and has a well defined edge - like the window sill in your shot above. If it still cannot focus properly, then you may have a lens problem or a sensor/focus system problem. If it does focus properly, it could just be the focus system not able to find something to properly focus on when in the wider focus mode. If you have any other lenses, or know another Canon owner who can let you try another, see if your camera does the same thing with another lens.

photo_chick
05-13-2011, 04:05 PM
I had almost the exact same issues when the AF motor died on one of my lenses. As it was going out it would sporadically focus. Eventually it just made a grinding noise and stopped and I ended up using manual focus for about a year until I replaced it.

ssanders79
05-14-2011, 09:10 AM
Is there a macro button on your camera that is click/turned on?