PDA

View Full Version : Help!!! Opening Canon photos in Camera Raw?


jenseib
04-24-2011, 10:05 PM
I tried using RAW today for our Easter photos. I have a Canon 50D. I usally edit in photoshop. Lately I open bridge, and edit my jpegs in camera raw then move them to CS3 to finish the eidt (not that I am all that great at editing)
So I open bridge and go to open it in camera raw, but it doesn't give me that option. Each image is a CR2 file. Do I need to do something to convert them. If so what or how?
Everyone tells me I will have more freedom with editing in RAW, but so far I can't even get the darn things opened! :laughing:

ukcatfan
04-24-2011, 10:27 PM
Camera RAW (ACR) is what you use to convert them. This sounds to me like you need to patch your ACR to a newer version. It can always open any JPG, but RAW files are specific to each camera (not brand). ACR has to be updated in order for it to be able to open the files from a new camera model. I would speculate that you installed ACR somewhat earlier than the 50D was even made and you have not updated it.

jenseib
04-24-2011, 10:30 PM
Camera RAW (ACR) is what you use to convert them. This sounds to me like you need to patch your ACR to a newer version. It can always open any JPG, but RAW files are specific to each camera (not brand). ACR has to be updated in order for it to be able to open the files from a new camera model. I would speculate that you installed ACR somewhat earlier than the 50D was even made and you have not updated it.

OK. I am reading just that online. I tried to download the newest version ,but it won't change anything. It still says I have the olde version, even though I tried downloading it 3 times. What am I doing wrong?

photo_chick
04-24-2011, 10:32 PM
I agree.. you probably just need to update your ACR. I's free and easy from Adobe's site. You also might consider not opening your jpegs in ACR to edit. It tends to cause some wonky artifacting at times because it was designed for RAW files and not jpegs. I know it's a crutch a lot of people use, but all the same tools are available outside ACR in CS3, and the're actually more effective there.

ukcatfan
04-24-2011, 10:43 PM
OK. I am reading just that online. I tried to download the newest version ,but it won't change anything. It still says I have the olde version, even though I tried downloading it 3 times. What am I doing wrong?

I cannot help you there other than to make sure you are downloading the correct version. :confused3

EDIT: Just thought of something. You could uninstall it completely and then re-install with the new file.

disneyboy2003
04-25-2011, 05:38 AM
OK. I am reading just that online. I tried to download the newest version ,but it won't change anything. It still says I have the olde version, even though I tried downloading it 3 times. What am I doing wrong?

Ok, this might sound like a very stupid thought, but after you downloaded the newest version, did you install it, too? Sorry. Just trying to think of easy solutions, especially since you only mentioned downloading it, but didn't mention installing it. I'll stop here.

Also, what version of Photoshop do you have? And is it "Photoshop" or "Photoshop Elements"?

The "latest" version of Adobe Camera Raw (ACR) is version 6.3. However, it's only compatible with Photoshop CS5 or Photoshop Elements 9.0. If you have earlier versions of either of these, then you can't use the latest ACR.

It looks like the Canon 50D was first supported by ACR 5.1 (link (http://www.adobe.com/support/downloads/detail.jsp?ftpID=4060) to Adobe), which means that it's only compatible with Photoshop CS4 (or newer) and Photoshop Elements 6.0 (or newer).

That's why I asked what version of Photoshop you have. It actually makes a difference.


There is one other way to use your .CR2 files, especially if you've got super-old versions of Photoshop or Photoshop Elements. You can use Adobe's free DNG Converter (link (http://www.adobe.com/support/downloads/detail.jsp?ftpID=4924) to Adobe).

What is DNG? It's an open-source RAW image format created by Adobe. You know how .CR2 files are RAW files that are specific to Canon? (and .NEF files are RAW files that are specific to Nikon). You can convert your camera's proprietary RAW files into a standard DNG file, and open that DNG file in any Adobe program (or any other program that supports DNG files).

DNG is still a RAW file, so you still get ALL the benefits of shooting in RAW. Plus, DNG files are a little smaller than your camera's proprietary RAW files (10-25% smaller?), so you can save some hard drive space, too.

"RAW vs. DNG" (ie. "Canon's CR2 vs DNG", or "Nikon's NEF vs DNG", etc) is a HUGE topic of discussion itself, so I won't get into it here. If nothing else, converting your CR2 RAW files to DNG is an alternative, especially if you've got older versions of Photoshop or Photoshop Elements.

Hope that wasn't too confusing.

jenseib
04-25-2011, 07:24 AM
I have CS3. It doesn't give me an option to install it. What do I do to actually install it? I did download the correct one for CS3.

BigDaddyWill
04-25-2011, 07:58 AM
From reading the above posts, it looks like your PS is one version too old to work, as he stated you needed CS4. I opened one yesterday in my PSP X3 and it opened fine. I would suspect you would need to upgrade your PS to be able to work with the files like you want.

Will

jenseib
04-25-2011, 08:07 AM
From reading the above posts, it looks like your PS is one version too old to work, as he stated you needed CS4. I opened one yesterday in my PSP X3 and it opened fine. I would suspect you would need to upgrade your PS to be able to work with the files like you want.

Will

No, everything I read says I can install an update (4.6) and it should work. But I can't get the update to overtake the old version. I also downliaded the dng converter, but I have no clue what to do with those files now? I still can't open them in camera raw.

disneyboy2003
04-25-2011, 08:17 AM
I have CS3. It doesn't give me an option to install it. What do I do to actually install it? I did download the correct one for CS3.

So, the Canon 50D was released after Photoshop CS3.

As I mentioned earlier, the "oldest" version of Adobe Camera Raw you could use for the Canon 50D is version 5.1. According to Adobe's Web site (which I provided a link earlier), to take advantage of ACR 5.1, the earliest version of Photoshop you can use is CS4.

If you convert your RAW files to DNG, then you can use any version of ACR and any version of Photoshop. Again, you'd need to use Adobe's DNG Converter to do this.

Your other options would be (1) buy a newer version of Photoshop (CS4 or CS5), or (2) use Canon's Digital Photo Professional (DPP).

DPP is a free software program from Canon that should have been included on a CD with your Canon 50D. It's a program that is specific for Canon's proprietary RAW files. DPP will allow you to do post-processing for your RAW photos, similar to what you're already doing now with ACR.

Hope that helps.

HeatherFeather
04-25-2011, 08:18 AM
Did your camera come with some software on a couple of discs? I have a 550d/T2i and mine did. One is the programs is called Digital Photo Professional. It allows you to manipulate wb and a lot of things on your RAW images and convert them to jpegs. I use it a good bit and then use photoshop for other edits.

Maybe try this until you can figure out how to use your other program for processing your RAW files.

disneyboy2003
04-25-2011, 08:21 AM
Oops! I just read the Adobe Web site for Adobe Camera Raw 4.6 (link (http://www.adobe.com/support/downloads/detail.jsp?ftpID=4036)). Looks like ACR 4.6 supports your Canon 50D. And if that's the case, you should be ok with Photoshop CS3.

So don't worry about the option of buying a newer version of Photoshop...unless you want to.

HeatherFeather
04-25-2011, 08:24 AM
Wanted to add, if you can't find the CD with DPP on it, I believe you can also download it off of the internet. Good luck!

jenseib
04-25-2011, 08:28 AM
Did your camera come with some software on a couple of discs? I have a 550d/T2i and mine did. One is the programs is called Digital Photo Professional. It allows you to manipulate wb and a lot of things on your RAW images and convert them to jpegs. I use it a good bit and then use photoshop for other edits.

Maybe try this until you can figure out how to use your other program for processing your RAW files.

I can't fiouge out how to use that software though?

Oops! I just read the Adobe Web site for Adobe Camera Raw 4.6 (link (http://www.adobe.com/support/downloads/detail.jsp?ftpID=4036)). Looks like ACR 4.6 supports your Canon 50D. And if that's the case, you should be ok with Photoshop CS3.

So don't worry about the option of buying a newer version of Photoshop...unless you want to.

I have downloaded it. I can't get it to work. Ialso went to updates in CS3 and tried to update it using that and it encounter a problem everytime.. I did it on 2 computers and both have a problem and won't update.

I have the DNG converter downloaded and converted my files....buyt I have no clue what to do with them now. They won't open in camera raw either.

HeatherFeather
04-25-2011, 08:39 AM
[QUOTE=jenseib;40865056]I can't fiouge out how to use that software though?

It is actually very easy to use. There is a tutorial to go with it that should show you how to use the basic functions. Once you have downloaded the software, you should at least be able to see your images. Can you open and view them?

jenseib
04-25-2011, 08:55 AM
[QUOTE=jenseib;40865056]I can't fiouge out how to use that software though?

It is actually very easy to use. There is a tutorial to go with it that should show you how to use the basic functions. Once you have downloaded the software, you should at least be able to see your images. Can you open and view them?


I could see them in there, but had no clue what to do with them. It was very confusing. If I can't get raw files to open in camera raw, I will just shoot jpeg like I have. I just can't figure out why it won't update on 2 computers

HeatherFeather
04-25-2011, 09:05 AM
Sorry I can't help you with updating CR, but for an immediate fix to getting your current RAW photos to jpegs, just select one of them and then click on File and then Convert and Save. This should make your file a jpeg and you will still have the RAW file. At least then you can get to them and manipulate them in photoshop.

photo_chick
04-25-2011, 09:45 AM
As far as CS3 being too old. That's not the issue. I was using CS2 until CS5 came out and I had no issues using ACR with CR2 files from my 50D. THe 50D came out in 2008, so it's not like it's a new build.

ukcatfan
04-25-2011, 12:28 PM
I am getting the impression that you downloaded the update but didn't install it. Forgive me if I am wrong. To install it, you should just be able to double click the file you downloaded and follow the prompts.

jenseib
04-25-2011, 12:34 PM
I am getting the impression that you downloaded the update but didn't install it. Forgive me if I am wrong. To install it, you should just be able to double click the file you downloaded and follow the prompts.

I doubleclicked on it. It says extract files and there are no files to extract then. Nothing else comes up as a prompt.

ukcatfan
04-25-2011, 01:08 PM
I doubleclicked on it. It says extract files and there are no files to extract then. Nothing else comes up as a prompt.

You might have to run the extract and then navigate to where it extracted to then run the update. See if there are directions on their website. I am on an Android phone right now, so cannot look myself.

Shutterbug
04-25-2011, 01:14 PM
Can I ask why not just use the canon raw software DPP that came with the camera?

For me I find it reads the raw files out of the camera alot better than the adobe ACR
Plus its free.

jenseib
04-25-2011, 01:25 PM
You might have to run the extract and then navigate to where it extracted to then run the update. See if there are directions on their website. I am on an Android phone right now, so cannot look myself.

I think I mith have it loaded now. It is opening half of my raw files now.

jenseib
04-25-2011, 01:26 PM
Can I ask why not just use the canon raw software DPP that came with the camera?

For me I find it reads the raw files out of the camera alot better than the adobe ACR
Plus its free.

I don't want to learn a whole new program. I do everything in camera raw with my jpegs and then in photoshop. I looked at what came with the camera and it was a mess to figure out.

Shutterbug
04-25-2011, 01:39 PM
I don't want to learn a whole new program. I do everything in camera raw with my jpegs and then in photoshop. I looked at what came with the camera and it was a mess to figure out.

The thing with DPP I find, is it displays the photos just how you took them in the camera. I use picture styles and ACR cannot read that "recipe" correctly. Each time I used ACR I had to do alot of tweaking to get to the same pic I took.
In DPP I dont, thus my pp time is reduced.

In anycase it was just a suggestion :)

disneyboy2003
04-25-2011, 02:42 PM
I think I mith have it loaded now. It is opening half of my raw files now.

So what did you end up doing? Just curious what the final solution was.

jenseib
04-25-2011, 03:07 PM
So what did you end up doing? Just curious what the final solution was.

I don't know. One of the downloads must've took. It just started working all of a sudden. LOL!