PDA

View Full Version : Wide Angle Zoom Lens Help

allie7
04-21-2011, 09:39 PM
Hi, guys!
I'm somewhat new to the camera world. I bought a Nikon D3100 last November, and now I'm going on a Disney Cruise next May. I'm really wanting to buy a wide angle zoom lens. I've been looking around a lot for one, and can't find a good one that's around my price range (around $500, but happy for it to be less :P). I don't really want like a 18-24, I want more of a zoom. I've got a Nikon camera, but I don't think Nikon lenses will be affordable for me. I'm okay with going with an off-brand lens, as longs as it's a wide angle zoom. I'm hoping some one on the disboards will know of a good lens. Thanks.

Gianna'sPapa
04-21-2011, 11:31 PM
I'm a little confused by your request because you want wide angle but more zoom. Those two tend to be at odds with one another. The longer the zoom the less wide the lens usually is. Many are using 10-20mm or 12-24mm lenses which are classified as Ultra Wide Angle. Can you clarify what you are asking for?

TXFL
04-22-2011, 05:11 AM
What's wrong with the kit lens? the 18-55 mm is not a bad lens, just learn your camera's strenghts and weakness; then you can decide what lens suits your shooting style and invest in a good lens. About the only place I needed a wide angle lens was inside the restaurants, for the shows I used my telephoto, Pelican Plunge = telephoto. I think you got a good lens already, bon voyage.

allie7
04-22-2011, 08:39 AM
What's wrong with the kit lens? the 18-55 mm is not a bad lens, just learn your camera's strenghts and weakness; then you can decide what lens suits your shooting style and invest in a good lens. About the only place I needed a wide angle lens was inside the restaurants, for the shows I used my telephoto, Pelican Plunge = telephoto. I think you got a good lens already, bon voyage.