PDA

View Full Version : Disney Internships- More than 1?

whnuwishuponastar
04-18-2011, 05:30 PM
Today I contacted my advisor at school to see if I will be able to get credits while I am an intern at Disney. She said that theres more than one kind of internship at Disney and it all depends on my major.

Well I am a Liberal Arts major, focusing on Photography & Film. Crossing my fingers for a Photopass Photographer role. (By the way, I'm a Spring 2012 hopeful)

Only reason I'm asking early is because I like to get things done on time and not last minute (Just in case I get accepted) KNOCK ON WOOD!

My question is, is there an internship related to my field or would being a Photopass Photographer work to get credit?

jandersonlj
04-18-2011, 06:38 PM
If I understand correctly, the first time you go is just "general" work. Disney puts you where they want you. If you sign up for a second time, then you can use what you are majoring in, and Disney will try to put you somewhere that will let you get experience in that particular field.

Frizzbird
04-18-2011, 06:50 PM
What your advisor meant was there are more than one type on internship program with Disney. There are technically 3 programs although for the upcoming fall there are only 2. The three programs are Career Start which is for people who have graduated high school in the last 18 months I believe but not gone to college yet. That isn't currently available. There is the College Program in which Photopass is a role and would best fit with your degree although most people don't get roles that relate in any way to their degree. Also Photopass is one of the most difficult roles to get next to perhaps concierge. I know for Spring 2010 there were only 60 some odd CP photopass photographers taken. Just something to keep in mind.