PDA

View Full Version : Space Mountain - MK vs. DL

ffugitive
01-15-2011, 09:40 AM
I'm basically a WDW vet and roller coaster fanatic / afficonado. Having ridden Space Mountain at MK dozens of times, I was looking forward to trying its DL counterpart, but I had NO IDEA what I was about to experience. What an unbelievable coaster, bearing very little resemblance to the MK ride bearing the same name and shell. Full symphony actually written to the twists and turns of the incredibly long, well-designed and ultra-smooth coaster, blaring through a premium sound system and coming to an incredible peak. I just needed to post something, as I was truly blown away. If you have not experienced it and you are a coaster fan, make it happen.

PS - I know this may be more of a DL post, but I really want it to stay in this forum as this is the forum I frequent and never knew about this.

lovealatte
01-15-2011, 09:49 AM
I was just going to post how much better DL's version is. :goodvibes Isn't it the best thing ever?? I especially love the soundtrack.

denecarter
01-15-2011, 09:57 AM
DL Space Mountain and their Indy ride are definitely high on my all-time favorites list! :thumbsup2

lovealatte
01-15-2011, 09:59 AM
The Indy ride is possibly my favorite Disney ride.. it has the best effects :thumbsup2

dvc_john
01-15-2011, 10:10 AM
I was in DL in September, but unfortunately Space Mountain was down at the time. I do remember that the Space Mountains in Paris and Hong Kong had corkscrews/loops in them.

cigar95
01-15-2011, 10:15 AM
Space Mt at WDW is more like the Matterhorn at DL, just in terms of the type of train, including the single-file seating. I think the larger cars at DL are part of the reason the ride is so much smoother there.

Goodness, I'm sitting here in my office, half a mile from DL and I haven't been in the park in five years. (Meanwhile, headed to WDW yet again next week.)

hookedonears
01-15-2011, 12:10 PM