PDA

View Full Version : AKL / Sprint 3g/4g service


solpo
09-03-2010, 02:31 PM
I'm going to be checking in @ AKL in 20 days and will need some internet access. Is the Sprint signal good there? I can turn on mobile hotspot on my wife's Evo for the month for 30 bucks and save a lot of money compared to $10/day for wired in-room access. 3G is fine, although 4G is better.

Any tips?

Thanks, all.

gerows
09-03-2010, 07:03 PM
With the EVO you should have the capabilities to tether your computer to your phone which will gve you the same results as using the hot spot but you will be connected with a wire to the phone rather wirelessly. This may be a feature of the phone that does not need to be activated and paid for like the hotspot but even if it is it should be about 1/2 the cost

TheTurners
09-03-2010, 07:39 PM
I am taking my EVO and I checked Sprint.com, there is 3G signal but no 4G anywhere close. And I agree with the pp, you can connect via USB and tether for free. I was worried about the battery lasting while taking pictures and using Facebook, ridehopper, etc during the long days in the park. I just bought an external battery charger on Amazon for $49 that can charge the phone anywhere 3 to 4 times on a single charge. If you don't have one already that may interest you. I love the EVO, just wish it had 50% more battery life because I use it for everything. This external battery will hopefully solve that problem. Have fun!

NatashaDisneyCM
09-03-2010, 08:06 PM
well I get full bars everywhere I go with my iphone 4. and I was at the AKL this week, and I have to say even with my aircard I got really bad and dropped service!! but the minute I moved to WL, it was full bars again!! now this was 4g...

CoolDisneyCat
09-03-2010, 11:50 PM
well I get full bars everywhere I go with my iphone 4. and I was at the AKL this week, and I have to say even with my aircard I got really bad and dropped service!! but the minute I moved to WL, it was full bars again!! now this was 4g...

interesting ... since AT&T doesn't have 4G yet ..:confused3

anyway.. to the OP..

if you do add the hot spot to the phone, it would not be the full $30. Just add it the night before you leave and take it off the day you come back. You would only be charged for the partial month.

Burnt Toast
09-04-2010, 01:28 AM
well I get full bars everywhere I go with my iphone 4. and I was at the AKL this week, and I have to say even with my aircard I got really bad and dropped service!! but the minute I moved to WL, it was full bars again!! now this was 4g...

iPhone 4 doesn't mean that it can use 4G service. It's the fourth generation of the iPhone. Sigh.

4G service is different... and AT&T does not have a 4G network yet and their version of 4G (LTE) won't be launched until probably late next year. Currently only Sprint has a working 4G network and it's available (in test phase) in Downtown Orlando. 4G has not been fully launched yet in Orlando and it is currently slated to be launched by the end of the year.

nurse.darcy
09-04-2010, 05:18 AM
To the I-Phone user: My friend and I were at AKL in August of 2009. I have Verizon and had full signal the entire trip. She is with AT&T and could never get a signal. Just an FYI

nurse.darcy
09-04-2010, 05:22 AM
Okay, so I have a techie question. I am on Verizon. I have the 2nd generation HTC for Android with unlimited everything. Can I do this "tethering" thing as well? Or is this something only offered through Sprint? And if so, how is it done.

gerows
09-04-2010, 09:37 PM
Okay, so I have a techie question. I am on Verizon. I have the 2nd generation HTC for Android with unlimited everything. Can I do this "tethering" thing as well? Or is this something only offered through Sprint? And if so, how is it done.

Tethering is typically a device specific feature not necessarily limited to the carrier, although only certain carriers allow simultaneous voice and data (meaning if you don't have this capabilities your Internet connection will be shut down when you receive an incoming call).
As far as how to do it you should check the phone's manual I'm not sure on that model although it's new enough that you should have the capabilities. Typically you would plug something into your phone (most likely the port you plug into in order to charge the phone) with a USB connection to your computer. I'm not sure how different carriers handle this from a pricing perspective, but some may charge you for this as you would most likely transmit much more data while using a laptop vs surfing the web on your phone. I would suggest you stop into your local store/mall kiosk and have them help you with it

nurse.darcy
09-05-2010, 11:58 PM
Tethering is typically a device specific feature not necessarily limited to the carrier, although only certain carriers allow simultaneous voice and data (meaning if you don't have this capabilities your Internet connection will be shut down when you receive an incoming call).
As far as how to do it you should check the phone's manual I'm not sure on that model although it's new enough that you should have the capabilities. Typically you would plug something into your phone (most likely the port you plug into in order to charge the phone) with a USB connection to your computer. I'm not sure how different carriers handle this from a pricing perspective, but some may charge you for this as you would most likely transmit much more data while using a laptop vs surfing the web on your phone. I would suggest you stop into your local store/mall kiosk and have them help you with it

Thank you. Turned out to be VERY helpful