PDA

View Full Version : Do you tip at Sonic?

dex08
05-27-2010, 08:07 AM
Just curious if you tip the employees who bring your food out to you at Sonic Drive Ins??

DH and I are having a debate about this and I'm wondering what everyone else does.

java
05-27-2010, 08:08 AM
Yes I tip if they bring it to the car-
If you don't want to tip do drive thru
jmho

JB2K
05-27-2010, 08:13 AM
I've been patronizing Sonic Drive-Ins for over 30 years and I never tip, because all Sonic employees earn the same wages (most waiters/waitresses in a traditional restaurant setting only earn a couple of dollars an hour meaning they are working for tips).

For the previous poster who said they tipped because the food was brought to them, do you also do the same thing at Hardee's/Carl's Jr.?

Shyvioletisme
05-27-2010, 08:22 AM
nope. Never tipped at Sonic and don't know anyone else who has either. All Sonic employees get paid at least minimum wage so it is not like they are getting menial restaurant salaries.

lulubelle6188
05-27-2010, 08:35 AM
It's untrue that all workers make minimuim wage or the same pay. I've worked at Sonic for over 10 years and have always depended on tips. We did make minimuim wage up until the last wage increase this past July. At the Sonic I work at people that had been there got to keep what they were making ( I make $6.70 an hour) but all new hires make waitress pay plus a dollar (which is $3.13 here) we have about 5 carhops making that. I know carhops that were making that before the increase at other Sonics though. We also claim and pay taxes on tips. In fact Sonic just made a deal with the IRS and we had to sign paper agreeements to it. I guess I am biased and on the drive thru I understand, but not when we bring your food out. I'm not saying you should tip 20% or a bad server. Most people leave the change up to the dollar or a dollar. I think that is great. Some people leave more and that's certainly welcome ;) I would say a little over half of people tip.