PDA

View Full Version : Definitely budget related - weddings

swilshire
05-22-2010, 09:44 AM
DD 24 just became engaged and we're already going crazy trying to plan the July 2011 wedding. When DH and I were married, he built an arbor in the backyard and we were married there. The reception was held on the porch. No provisions for rain (which it did, but fortunately early in the morning and not enough to make it muddy). Can't remember where we borrowed the chairs from. I worked part-time in a restaurant and they furnished the food at cost. Lots of our friends contributed to the wedding in lieu of gifts. The grooms cake, the flowers for the top of the wedding cake, the video, the photos, the dj .... all gifts.

DD has considered and rejected several venues for the wedding. We'd all like a beach wedding, but two elderly grandmothers can't travel far, so we need to stay local. Some of the prices are ridiculous. We found one place that was very reasonable, but the port-a-johns ruined the otherwise perfect place.

Any and all tips appreciated. We're going to look tomorrow at one place that would be very nice, but we'd have to rent our own tent(s), chairs and tables. No idea how much all of that would cost.

:confused3:confused3:confused3

Sheila

mrsklamc
05-22-2010, 10:03 AM
Can the port a johns be moved?

gillenkl
05-22-2010, 10:21 AM
My DD10 was watching "Disney Dream Weddings with David Tutera" on tv this morning......there's a budget buster.....she better start saving now!:rotfl2:

I don't have any advice but congratulations to your DD!!:bride:

jlodoj
05-22-2010, 10:23 AM
Congrats to your daughter! I think she may be saying the port-a-johns are the bathroom options.

mrsklamc
05-22-2010, 10:27 AM
Congrats to your daughter! I think she may be saying the port-a-johns are the bathroom options.

Oh, I get it now...I'm a little slow. :) I thought they were just ruining the ambience.