PDA

View Full Version : Gps


SnowWhite09
02-20-2010, 01:41 AM
Hi All - who has taken their GPS from Australia to the US with them? Do you need to download the US maps and if so, how do you go about doing this? Also, which GPS would you recommend?

TIA!
:goodvibes

Oz-kateer
02-24-2010, 04:53 AM
Hi - go to the website of your GPS manufacturer, they'll have instructions there. It varies from model to model and between the different brands.

Your GPS may have sufficilent memory for you to download directly into the unit itlsef, or you may have to load to amemory stick and then insert into the side.

I have a Garvin, works VERY well.

SnowWhite09
02-24-2010, 04:59 AM
Hi - go to the website of your GPS manufacturer, they'll have instructions there. It varies from model to model and between the different brands.

Your GPS may have sufficilent memory for you to download directly into the unit itlsef, or you may have to load to amemory stick and then insert into the side.

I have a Garvin, works VERY well.

Thanks Oz-kateer! :thumbsup2

Oz-kateer
02-24-2010, 05:20 AM
Goodness, sorry about the spelling. I'm not drunk. Honest!

That's a GARMIN.

darren123
02-24-2010, 06:39 PM
I have a Tom Tom One XL I have had this GPS for 3 years and have used it twice in the USA I purchased the west coast maps for about $90 for the TomTom site. Never had any trouble with it just updated it online before we went and had the GPS fully charged when we got to our hotel switched it on set the maps to USA, set it up for right side of the road driving and waited about 5 minutes until it knew where it was and all set ready to go. When we got our hire car just pluged it into the lighter as the GPS knew were it was it was not long in before we were ready to go.

SnowWhite09
02-25-2010, 04:27 AM
Thanks darren123 - I'm really excited about our upcoming trip and about driving in the US!

:goodvibes