PDA

View Full Version : How to plan for a DVC cruise-need help

forgop
01-10-2010, 04:43 PM
First, I have a family of 5 total, so if I'm looking at the point chart correctly, I will be required to have a category 4 stateroom?

Assuming the cruise linked below was booked with a sail date of Aug. 16, 2011, my total points required (assuming the lowest point total for 2 adults and 3 children ages 8, 6, and 4, I would have to have to use 667 points? I take it the $95 reservation fee is a single charge, not for each passenger, correct?

http://advc.disney.go.com/media/dvc_v0302/languagespecific/eng/member/vacationplanning/pointscharts/2011/disneycollection/2011PointsChart_DisneyCollection_5NightBahamas.pdf

arthur06
01-10-2010, 04:55 PM
I am by no means an expert, but it should be just the $95 fee once, not for each individual. I am not really sure about needing a category 4, we have 5 and will be in a category 6, but not sure that is an option with point exchanges.

forgop
01-10-2010, 05:21 PM
I'm just trying to determine what offers the best VALUE in terms of point values. For example, this would take more than 2 years worth of points for me and the trip could be purchased directly from Disney for ~ $5,500 for the family.

I'm thinking that if we're going to go on a cruise, we'll go Royal Caribbean or something and then maybe rent points to someone for the year to pay for it.

I just can't picture giving up the equivalent for 4 trips in a 1 BR over the course of 2 years for a single cruise.

NGenzink
01-10-2010, 06:34 PM