PDA

View Full Version : The Good, the bad and the ugly ** Happy ending **


domiii
07-16-2009, 04:57 PM
See post #23 for my Happy Ending!!

We just spent a week in Kidani Village in a Grand Villa and a studio. What a glorious, fantastic, marvelous, tremendous, terrific and wonderful week it was. That is the good. (I'll have to post a more detailed report when I get home.)

Yesterday, seven of us transferred to OKW in a 2 bedroom for 2 nights. When we checked in at noon the air-condition did not work. It was 80 degrees in the room. We called right away and let them know. They said some one would be there in 1/2 hour. Nope. When we got back from the parks at 11:30p, we stopped at the front desk and the CM put a work order in AND called maintenance and she told us some one would be there in 1/2 hour. Nope.

DH, being a Mr. Fix-it realized the condensor was frozen and turned off the ac and restarted the ac this am. It worked. However, there was a huge wet spot in the carpet in the hallway. So we called. And again no one came.

When we returned from a fantastic Keys to the Kingdom tour (we had Claire she was great), we heard water running in the hallway. It was the ac and the carpet was even more soaked. I called the front desk this time and told them we had just spent a wonderful week at Kidani Village and this was our first at OKW and it would be our last. Imagine the mold and mildew? Two housekeepers came with towels to dry carpet. The bad and the ugly.

Please don't flame me I know AKL-KV is shiny and new, but I expect the Disney Difference no matter where I stay. Isn't that why we all own a piece of the magic?

colonialtinker
07-16-2009, 05:15 PM
I'm not throwing flames, I'm trying to figure out why it took so long for someone to come :confused3. I would have been throwing a fit that night. there is no excuse for the delay, especially with temps in the 90's.

disneynutz
07-16-2009, 05:27 PM
Response to maintenance requests seems to be different at each property.

Another recent post had SSR maintenance changing light bulbs at 10:00 at night with a 30 min dispatch time.

Maybe OKW should borrow a maintenance person from SSR?

drusba
07-16-2009, 05:42 PM
That is completely inexcusable. When maintenance is requested for something like that, they should send someone promptly. You should definitely put in a very strong complaint to the DVC member satisfaction group.

mjy
07-16-2009, 08:17 PM
Response isn't just different from place to place, it is different within the same place.

I remember once waiting for hours for someone to bring a couple of light bulbs to the unit at the Boardwalk. Heck, I'd put them in myself, I just needed some. (It was not even like they were burned out -- they were missing! The had been burned out and cleaning took them but never brought any new ones.)

And yet, another time at the Boardwalk, I checked in on the day before New Year's Eve. Our refridgerator was hot. Maintenance was called. They came in five minutes. A half hour later, they were walking out with the old fridge after installing a new one. The day before New Year's with total capacity crowds no less.

You can never predict when and what kind of service you can get. It's more the luck of the draw.

toniosmom
07-16-2009, 08:42 PM
OMG....if I ever had a defective air conditioner, I would be calling maintenance every 10 minutes! :eek: That's one thing I can't deal with -- a stuffy, hot room. I wouldn't have slept a wink.

Malaguti Ball Clan
07-16-2009, 08:53 PM
Stayed at OKW in Mid June, VERY HOT....A/C was not working when we returned at 1130PM, called maintenance and they were there in less than 10 minutes, first guy couldn't figure it out, called his boss, they charged it up with freon and it was cooling off by 1am.....OKW maintenance really saved the night on that one.

Opie100
07-16-2009, 09:23 PM
If it makes you feel any better, we called maintainance during our Kidani stay because the previous occupant had smoked right by the door where the HVAC air handler is housed. The good was that the manager called and gave us a $50 credit towards our room :goodvibes - the bad was that maintenance never came (as promised) to change the air filter.

Tozzie
07-16-2009, 10:17 PM
We just spent a week in Kidani Village in a Grand Villa and a studio. What a glorious, fantastic, marvelous, tremendous, terrific and wonderful week it was. That is the good. (I'll have to post a more detailed report when I get home.)

Yesterday, seven of us transferred to OKW in a 2 bedroom for 2 nights. When we checked in at noon the air-condition did not work. It was 80 degrees in the room. We called right away and let them know. They said some one would be there in 1/2 hour. Nope. When we got back from the parks at 11:30p, we stopped at the front desk and the CM put a work order in AND called maintenance and she told us some one would be there in 1/2 hour. Nope.

DH, being a Mr. Fix-it realized the condensor was frozen and turned off the ac and restarted the ac this am. It worked. However, there was a huge wet spot in the carpet in the hallway. So we called. And again no one came.

When we returned from a fantastic Keys to the Kingdom tour (we had Claire she was great), we heard water running in the hallway. It was the ac and the carpet was even more soaked. I called the front desk this time and told them we had just spent a wonderful week at Kidani Village and this was our first at OKW and it would be our last. Imagine the mold and mildew? Two housekeepers came with towels to dry carpet. The bad and the ugly.

Please don't flame me I know AKL-KV is shiny and new, but I expect the Disney Difference no matter where I stay. Isn't that why we all own a piece of the magic?


That is inexcusable, you are a better person than I . There are alot of things I can live without but airconditioning in Florida in July is not one of them. I wouldn't have been able to sleep and I would have been at the front desk having a conversation with the manager on duty.

rentayenta
07-16-2009, 10:33 PM
Interesting. We stayed at OKW in a GV and the upstairs ac wasn't working. We called and it couldn't have been more than 30 minutes until they arrived and fixed it.

mikeandkarla
07-17-2009, 04:04 AM
Could DVC be included in the Disney cutbacks? Hopefully CM's and maintenance personell are at full staff.

dianeschlicht
07-17-2009, 06:40 AM
Response to maintenance requests seems to be different at each property.

Another recent post had SSR maintenance changing light bulbs at 10:00 at night with a 30 min dispatch time.

Maybe OKW should borrow a maintenance person from SSR?

In reality, OKW ans SSR have the same maintenance central. That's what I think the problem, is. We used to have stellar maintenance at OKW until SSR came on board and they moved the maintenance office to SSR and service both resorts from the same office.

BigEeyore
07-17-2009, 07:28 AM
No AC in July is totally unacceptable. I would have demanded they fix it or get me a new room.
Just wondering - did maintenance ever come or follow up with you?

kid-at-heart
07-17-2009, 08:16 AM
Thank you for persisting in reporting the problem. Neglecting maintenance leads to additional problems which leads to more $$$ for our member dues. Leaking AC = wet carpet = decreased life of carpet (and other issues) = more money for dues. Do be a squeaking wheel and save us all money. :goodvibes
We recently stayed at a state park cabin where I had a list of eleven items which needed attending. I called maintenance and they were great, they thanked me for reporting the problems. Obviously these were items that had built up over time and no one took two minutes out of their vacation time to report them. Most of the maintenace issues were minor such as burned out light bulbs but if guests had been reporting them as they noticed them (or leaving a note for housekeeping) I would not have been calling about eleven items.

BirdsOfPreyDave
07-17-2009, 09:04 AM
I agree with others that I wouldn't have been quite as calm about it. If they hadn't fixed the A/C straight off, I would have been isisting on a room change.

I got a laugh out of these two sentences in your post...

Two housekeepers came with towels to dry carpet. The bad and the ugly.Were you describing the housekeepers?

Did they look like this?

http://bp2.blogger.com/_lNHBzuOmt5U/SD2ma-ZQktI/AAAAAAAAAUU/jNgW0rUdnu8/s200/ugly+maid.jpg

dhdozier
07-17-2009, 12:42 PM
:rotfl:

I agree with others that I wouldn't have been quite as calm about it. If they hadn't fixed the A/C straight off, I would have been isisting on a room change.

I got a laugh out of these two sentences in your post...

Were you describing the housekeepers?

Did they look like this?

http://bp2.blogger.com/_lNHBzuOmt5U/SD2ma-ZQktI/AAAAAAAAAUU/jNgW0rUdnu8/s200/ugly+maid.jpg

BEASLYBOO
07-17-2009, 01:35 PM
Catchy title, love Clint! :lmao:

No flames here. OKW is our home resort and still our very favorite. The last 2 stays I've noticed and reported to maintenance issues that equal to your situation whihc were not handled in a timely or reasonable fashion. This was never the case at OKW, I've been an owner since 2000. I'm not tallking about wear and tear, every resort will have that in time, I'm talking about dirt and making sure that the villas are stocked appropriately. My opinion is that the current housekeeping staff isn't doing a good job and doesn't care to do a good job. Have they been warned ?if so, the problem doesn't seem to be getting any better, then get rid of them. Replace them with a staff that cares, the ones at BWV seem to.

n2mm
07-17-2009, 03:27 PM
That is horrible. Did the maintenance folks ever come? Sounds like housekeeping came to try to clean up. Thank you for continuing to keep calling about the problem. There is no way I could've sleep in a hot room in July or any time. One of our trips we called because someone took the batteries out of the remote and new batteries were delivered within 10 minutes, but getting your AC fixed is more than just a convenience, it's a necessity.

leanne2255
07-17-2009, 10:21 PM
This also happened a few years ago at my first and only stay at OKW. AC was frozen and leaking water all over the carpet. Started to smell very mildewy. I finally was moved to another room, but it was a hassle, none the less.

Cee
07-19-2009, 06:46 AM
It seems to be "feast of famine". On a recent stay at SSR, I wanted a few more pillows so I called Mousekeeping. Within 15 minutes, we had four knocks on the door from four different mousekeepers with pillows. I didn't need THAT many!:laughing::thumbsup2

fishermouse
07-19-2009, 07:00 AM
Response to maintenance requests seems to be different at each property.

Another recent post had SSR maintenance changing light bulbs at 10:00 at night with a 30 min dispatch time.

Maybe OKW should borrow a maintenance person from SSR?

Nothing personal but back off our SSR maintenece folks:mad:, OKW will have to get thier own. On aserious note I thought I heard OKW was getting a big renovation, maybe they will address all the problems we've been hearing about. DW and I have not stayed there yet but plan to try it, the grounds are beutiful.

domiii
07-20-2009, 10:52 AM
Sorry I did not respond sooner - we enjoyed our last day before our 20 hour drive home!! Thank you everyone for your encouragement about being persistent - we usually are not. We rarely complain about anything, its just how we are, plus we have never really been unhappy in any other DVC location.

:lmao: Loved the comment about the housekeepers, no they did not look like that. :lmao:

Maintenance did come and looked at the unit. Turns out that last person to work on the unit forgot to put the drain pipe in the proper place, duh! Anyway, when the maintenance person pick up the towles I nearly died. Filth from the carpets. Not just dirt, the back side of the towels were black. Ugh.

We were only staying for 2 nights and just did not want to move. Thank goodness there were ceiling fans - which is all we have at home.

When we checked out on Saturday, I asked to speak with the Manager, Anthony. I told him my whole saga including the condition of the towels under the ac vent and other things we noticed i.e. the phones were gross and dirty, the oven door window was streaked with who knows what and concern that the water logged carpet would breed mold and mildew. It was as if no one gave the room a good clean in a few weeks/months/years. I told him we would not be staying at OKW again and that we did not experience the Disney Difference. I also told him I was a memeber fo the DISboards and would be expressing my opinion. Now that I thnik about it I forgot to mention the light in the fridge was out and the bottom rack of the dishwasher had no wheels on it. They were in the utensil rack. DH was about to fix it and I gave him one of those you touch it and I'll hurt you looks!!

He told me they missed an opportunity (ya think?), took my name and phone number and told me he would call me later in the afternoon. In true form, it is now Monday and I have not heard from him. I am not sure what I expected to hear.

So any one who is assigned to 2114 at OKW - jump up and down and shout HE** NO.

I forgot to mention, we stayed at OKW on 7/6/09 to 7/8/09 and had no issues!! We did note then the bus routes for OKW were a little screwy, but that is another post!

Oh well, back to reality. :sad:

domiii
07-24-2009, 01:47 PM
I received a call this morning from the Manager at OKW. He gave back our points for the last night we stayed there for our unhappiness. Does this happen often?

He also told me the a/c unit was completely replaced.

We very, very rarely complain, as I realize we do not live in a perfect world, even at Disney. I am a happy camper!

kid-at-heart
07-24-2009, 02:26 PM
Thank you for posting the outcome of your complaint. I am glad the manager compensated you for your discomfort. If you had not reported the leaking AC the problem would have escalated. :goodvibes

oakmanner
07-24-2009, 02:42 PM
You did a great thing not just for you and your family but all us DVC owners. There is nothing wrong with bringing to managements attention issues that are not right with our DVC resorts. As long as its done in a professional manner and it appears you did.

If we turn our collective backs to these issues it will only get worse. Nice job!:thumbsup2

LIFERBABE
07-24-2009, 02:59 PM
You did a great thing not just for you and your family but all us DVC owners. There is nothing wrong with bringing to managements attention issues that are not right with our DVC resorts. As long as its done in a professional manner and it appears you did.

If we turn our collective backs to these issues it will only get worse. Nice job!:thumbsup2

Ditto!