View Full Version : Friend said CR treated them terribly as they were SOG

06-17-2002, 09:41 PM
I REALLY hope this is just an isolated incident, as we stayed at the CR last summer and had the most wonderful time, but.....friend and her family(5 rooms all-together) were there from 6/9-6/15 and said the room they were in (my friends) had the ceiling collapse from an a/c leak problem. The mess landed all over their belongings as they did a quick unpack and hit the parks. When they returned and found the wet MESS all over everything and one of the beds they called the front desk. Clerk said (and I quote as she DID get into trouble for this) "We can't do anything for you SOG people!":eek: My friend called her number for SOG explained and within the hour they were moved to a new room, but carpet was wet and torn, toilet chipped and draperies half apart. They again requested a different move and stated that the time they lost cleaning up their wet belongings and re-packing was a shame...and the CM showing them the room said something like at the rate you people are getting I wouldn't complain! I just can't believe it...2 nasty CM'S in the same day over the same problem? My friend quietly went to the desk, asked for a manager and said that they are not requesting another room change, but she did want to inform him that w/out the brave military personal who have fought for freedom, the CM'S would not have freedom of speech to speak so poorly to hotel guests. My friend said she felt like the CR treated them as trash and will never stay there again...no matter HOW decent the rate is. She said she would rather pay the 18 more it would've cost for the All Stars per room that is as they have stayed there for the fun feel B4 and truly loved it. The CR did send them $25 in disney dollars to spend as they wish to make up for their lost park time, which I thought was a nice move... but maybe a little too late. They also spoke to some people at the pool who madethe comment that they were placed in the SLUM section of the N.Wing w/all the other SOG people! So I guess my friend wasn't the only one who felt a bit different about it all.
As I said, we were there last July and LOVED it...but we are not military. I felt so bad as I raved about the place and said how lucky they were to stay there......I hope all the bitterness any CM'S HAVE IS GONE NOW!

06-17-2002, 09:48 PM
That's just terrible. I hope that it was just those couple of CMs with the attitude and not resort wide. There is no excuse for such rudeness. Do they keep all the SOG people together in the same building?

06-17-2002, 09:52 PM
I am sorry for the treatment your friends got at CR. I am sure that the thoughtless CMs who said those things to them just felt overworked and frustrated at the moment, but that certainly does not excuse their behavior.

Your friends did the right thing to complain to the management about the issue. Hopefully it will be dealt with.

No one should be treated disrespectfully, irregardless of how much or how little money they are spending to stay at a resort.

Hopefully your trip will be a much different experience!

06-17-2002, 09:57 PM
I've been hearing lots of problems with CR Staff towards SoG guests. I'm assuming that they figure that with the room rate SoG guests are getting, they don't deserve much more. But, they should receive the same treatment that all guests of the resort get. I've only stayed at the CR as a paying guest (NYE 2001/2002), and was treated well by the front desk and the concierge.

06-17-2002, 10:03 PM
Can someone please asure me that this is an isolated incident? I hope to use the SoG rate at CR in June 2003 and I would rather pay more to stay somewhere else than be treated so poorly at what is s'posed to be one of the nicest Deluxe resorts on property.

If anyone has gotten the SoG rate and loved the CR, please let me know so I won't chicken out.



06-17-2002, 10:10 PM
Wow, that is really inexcusable. :( What a person PAYS for a room should be totally irrelevant, the service should be the same regardless. It's especially sad when our military folks, who deserve the utmost in dignity and respect, are treated this way. It's not THEIR fault that SOG is undergoing a rehab and they are given the CR instead.

I truly hope that was an isolated incident as well.

06-17-2002, 10:13 PM
What horrible news!! Finfan, I completly agree with the statement your friend made at the front desk to the manager..I am so shocked! I too will be staying there next May/June 03 under SoG for my honeymoon, and I would love some reassurance that this was just a one time deal, or I just might chicken out too! Golly Day!

06-17-2002, 10:17 PM
That is horrible to be treated that way, but what in the world are they thinking letting the rooms get that bad! I've heard so many comments on this board about worn out, dirty, etc. I would hate to take a risk paying for a room on site at what they cost and be disappointed.

06-17-2002, 10:21 PM
I'm very sorry your friend had such a bad experience, but I wouldn't let it scare anyone away from using the SoG rates there:

1--It's such a great deal, why let a couple of bad apple CMs spoil it? You earned this!
2--Who cares about the comments from other resort guests?
3--Sounds like SoG management responded quickly.
4--Sounds like CR management also responded well ($25 plus the post says the first CM got in trouble)
5--What are the odds of a disaster like this occuring (without which your friend's stay might have gone along just fine).
6--CR and SoG staff are probably still working out a few bugs with regard to who's responsible for responding to these kinds of problems.

Go, enjoy! (We will be, in December!)

06-17-2002, 10:22 PM
I would say that the best things to do if you are anticipating a trip to the CR:

Phone Shades of Green to express your concern about the treatment of SOG guests that you have become aware of. If they hear this enough, they will contact CR management about this. They certainly don't want their guests treated poorly.

Phone CR management or write a letter with the same intention. They may not have any idea that this problem is widespread if it, in fact, is a recurring problem.

06-17-2002, 10:26 PM
I forwarded the thread to Thomas Hawes, executive offices at wdwguest.communications@disney.com. Hopefully he will look into the problem and address the errant ways of the personnel working at the CR. My wife and I along with our son and fiance are arriving on 6/23 for a week stay at the CR and as military, will be staying in the "SOG" area. We do not consider ourselves as less then equals to anyone else that goes to Disney. Therefore, we will not tolerate mistreatment or arrogance by any employee of Disney.
I work as a public relations specialist for the Air National Guard and will not hesitate to convey to MWR any adverse treatment we encounter as members of the military and DOD.
Hopefully this was a isolated incident.

06-17-2002, 11:36 PM
maybe the "complaining" CM's need to spend a little time at boot camp (think they'd make it?) and then maybe a little time overseas seeing how hard our miltary work for a living! I hear that certain mountainous regions are particularly lovely this time of year! Oh- and maybe they could spend 6 months or more working out problems on their own while their significant other is out at sea......or be out at sea and miss the birth of their child, or other important family events. We all know military life is really a walk in the park, afterall!

Ugh! I know the CM's may have been having a hard day- but there is no excuse for that kind of behavior!!!!!

06-17-2002, 11:50 PM
Thank you all for your terrific insight and support on this incident...I REALLY hesitated posting as I did not wish to upset anyone, but DID want to give a heads up about the rude behavior of CM's, and poor treatment of hotel guests. As I read the post by ideveaux, I am glad I posted as hopefully a positive step has been made to prevent any further guests from , as my friend said, " a humiliating experience".... she expressed those feelings to me, not the CR as she wanted to focus on the Enjoyable park time they had. I truly believe the CR is a fantastic resort and I personally would stay in a heartbeat again if I could afford it.....but we did not encounter ANY negative things there at all that would have given me sad memories. My friends family also felt that the treatment was less than gracious, bu ththey are choosing to focus on the fact that they were still all able to be in the samr resort together and enjoy their trip as a big family. They did have a great time at Chef Mickey's for bksft:) ...and kids loved the arcade area...as stated MANY times by travelers, NO hotel or RESORT is w/out it's faults....and my friend still feels WDW itself is the happiest place on earth!

06-17-2002, 11:53 PM
What an awful way to begin a Disney vacation. I hope the rest of the trip went better. I hope this attitude issue is resolved soon. The amount you pay for a room should not dictate the treatment you receive.

06-18-2002, 06:46 AM
How sad!! Since management obviously agreed to the rates offered to SOG at the CR, that makes those rates the "posted rates" for that group and everyone should be treated equally!! It irritates me when discounts are OFFERED and then guests are treated like beggars. No one forces management to give these discounts, they are used as a publicity tool. That means guests with discounts should not be placed in the sub-standard rooms, etc. People with discounts paid what the asking rate was at that time and were lucky enough to get the rate before it was gone. Especially for military families- they deserve to relax when they get a chance!

06-18-2002, 07:21 AM
It's not only SOG guests that they put in rooms next on the re-hab schedule....In my experience as a CM, every time I stayed at a Disney resort with a CM discount, the rooms were sorely in need of a face-lift! A fellow castmember has also experienced this.
Their attitude was "you get what you pay for".
Very poor attitude. If the rooms need work, then the whole wing should be shut down and repaired. Unfortunately, that would result in lower occupancy and revenue. Something the beancounters frown upon. They wait for things to practically fall apart. The condition of the rooms at CR North Wing are inexcusable for any resort , let alone the supposedly high standards of Disney.
But I was a CM who worked for Disney selling Disney. I had to recommend these same resorts to guests. There were many times when I would be very hesitant to do so.

It's too bad that some of the magic was missing from your friend's trip. I do hope that they enjoyed their stay despite of the resort problems.

06-18-2002, 07:36 AM
I stayed at CR for 2 days with an SoG rate and was less than happy. However, to be fair, I did not feel I was signaled out because I was a SoG guest. The CM's were less than friendly but that was primarily at the monorail where they don't know what kind of discount you are getting. So they were unfriendly to everyone! I did leave tips for what turned out to be poor maid service until the last day when I stopped. I was disappointed with the pool and food court. But I was spoiled by the Evergreens at SoG and everyone is aware that the CR pools are older. BUT - the access to MK was wonderful! The rooms are big and the decor, while loud, was okay. My DGD loved the colors. Also we really enjoyed the ease or getting to Chef Mickey's and being able to see the water parade right outside our room. Also it was cool to catch the monorail for a quick trip to the Poly to grab dessert! Will we be back? Yes, next February. But we will eat more meals outside the park. I did not like the quality or price of the food court, but then again I was spoiled by the Evergreen.

06-18-2002, 09:31 AM
Just curious?? What room/and or floor was your friend on? We are going in August.

06-18-2002, 09:48 AM
when I made my reservation, it was suggested I go through SoG if there was any problems with the room as far as view (we paid the extra to get the patio room) or location.

I would suggest you contact both Disney and Shades of Green since they are working together on this project.

06-18-2002, 10:33 AM
Sorry guys but I find this whole experience as unexceptable! There have been a "few" DIs'rs that have had CMs make comments on the rates they are getting and not just at SOG. WDW needs to give their resort CMs an atitude adjustment. I also do not think 25 WDW dollars makes up for a wet stinking mess in my luggage. Can you imagine how much time and effort that took to clean that mess up out of your suitcase. Not how I would want to spend a days vacation . I give your friend credit for not focusing on this and ketting it ruin her vacation but having come home now I would raise H*LL! Management can not adress these problems if they are not aware of them.

06-18-2002, 12:31 PM
We were just at the CR as SoG "refugees" and had a great stay other than a problem with the laundry. Hopefully they will replace the dryers in the NGW soon. It would take 4 dollars and 2 hrs to dry a load of light weight cloths. The CT doesn't have a laundry room and most of the CT guest doing laundry came to the NGW instead of the SGW for some reason. Add the long time to dry cloths, the non NGW people and all the military people who were doign thier laundry and it made for a terrible night. DSis was given a refund for what she paid in the laundry, they finished drying our cloths and folded them for us and gave sis $20 to make up for her lost hours in the laundry room. Many of the SoG folks went then on the the SGW laundry and the dryers did the cloths in one $1 cycle.

06-18-2002, 12:54 PM
Originally posted by KerriL

Their attitude was "you get what you pay for".
Very poor attitude.

Then I think managements attitude towards them should be "you get paid for what you do" and have them fired. I don't stay onsite to receive customer service worse than what is found off site. So far in our trips, we have been extremely fortunate in that we have never had a bad experience. When people do experience situations like this, I think they should notify CR management right then (like they did) and then notify WDW management as well. Sounds like the CMs they encountered still have some growing up to do. Let them work somewhere else until they do.

06-18-2002, 03:00 PM
We had a GREAT stay at the CR using SOG beginning of May. We had a view of the playgroud. The room was wonderful, however the decor is not my favorite - the location can't be beat!! The CM were very friendly and informative. The layout of the NGW reminded me of the SOG and I think maybe that was one reason they used this resort.

Anyway, our experience was a positive one and I truly feel bad for all of you that had a terrible time. If you can, give them a second chance - it was probably an isolated incident and the CM was probably just having a bad day - which does NOT excuse their behavior, but I don't think that is the way Disney wants their military guests to feel.


06-18-2002, 05:41 PM
I'd turn the tables on them. I'd tell them that they should be ashamed renting a room that was in that deplorable of a condition, regardless of the room rate. The resort is supposed to be a four star property, and should be so, and that you'll be lodging a complaint with AAA when you get home. That the rate you are paying is none of their business, and that if they'd like to discuss it with a manager, why don't they call for one right now. That the rate was negotiated between SoG and the CR management, and they shouldn't be so concerned. And the zinger--if the CR had high occupancy rates to begin with, they wouldn't have agreed to set aside the room block for SoG, so maybe it's actually helping keep them in a job by having the SoG guests staying there.


06-18-2002, 06:11 PM
When we stayed at CBR, quite a few years ago the air conditioning unit, which was right next to our room, busted and the water from it damaged my neices clothes. She reported it, and the maid took all her clothes and cleaned them for her, and they sent her a huge fruit and candy basket!:D

06-18-2002, 07:24 PM
Ducklite - I agree with your response. CR should not be rated 4 stars with rooms in that condition. Also, what if someone had been in that room when the plaster fell. It was fortunate that only clothes were damaged.

Does Disney have the equivalent of Secret Shoppers for room audits? If they don't, they should. They should basically put people in place to randomly audit customer service and room condition. I believe if they did that, the CMs would be more careful with their level of customer service. I used to work for Nordstrom when they were setting the trend for excellent customer service. If any of the workers had used derogatory or negative remarks with a customer, we would have been fired on the spot.

06-18-2002, 08:07 PM
DisneyVa......They were on the 3rd floor....I think the room ended in 14 and when they were moved it was to the last room at the far end of the hallway. Friend said the walk from that room to the front desk gave her time to cool down and figure out what to say to the manager. My friend does not 'CHAT' on her computer much if ever, but asked me to convey her appreciation to you all and hopes everyone enjoys their upcoming trips. She also apologizes if anyone is worried now, but just suggests possibly viewing their room B4 accepting it...since she knows now that it is likely that more than just the 2 rooms she had are probably in need of some TLC. Her anger now is more about CM's behavior...if a hotel has too many guests and you get the crummy room....that's bad luck, but the attitude is what is sticking in her craw.

06-18-2002, 09:09 PM
Geeez, I'm sorry to hear of so many disappointing reports. We just got back from the CR thru SoG and had a great experience. We were very pleased that our faxed request for first floor was granted and I even made a joking remark at check in about being a 2nd cousin as we were SoG guests and the CM there said, "Oh no, you are Contemporary Guests now." We also really liked the Food court and ate bkft and dinner there a few times. The burgers and fries were quite tasty as was the croissant at bkft. Also, with the refillable mugs the kids could get slurpees. We would stay there again in a minute.


06-18-2002, 10:03 PM
Sounds like the word has gotten out to management regarding treatment of Disney guest, SOG or otherwise. Disney has always been a place you could go to relax and enjoy your family. Hearing disparring comments had me worried about our up-coming trip. Lets hope everone is able to enjoy the accomodations and spend a memorable time at the park. At the same time, don't stand still for mistreatment from any CM or shoddy accomodations at any of the resorts. Record problems and report them. That is the only way corrects can be made. Most times, management is not aware of incidents of mistreatment because they are not reported.

Down to 4 days until I arrive.....

06-18-2002, 11:01 PM
ldeveaux...have a GREAT trip....as I said B4, I would stay at CR again in a heartbeat! Please excuse any fears I may have caused by my post, but as you put so nicely in your post...bring any issues up at the time so they can be handled...and maybe my friends situation did indeed help others to be avoided. She would be happy to know if it did.

06-19-2002, 12:33 PM
Disney does have secret shoppers for their stores, so it stands to reason, they do the same within the parks and resorts.

06-19-2002, 03:04 PM
Normally I dont respond, but I feel I must. On many occasions, we have stayed at different resorts via SOG rates. We have always been treated great. We are due to check in on our next magical visit in 2 days at the AKL and hope that these problems that have been mentioned will not follow us there. Only thing with SOG reservations, usually the CM's in reservations won't help before we get there with too much info. We have to do all our follow-ups with SOG staff.

06-19-2002, 07:07 PM
CM's in CRO only answer pointed questions. They do not offer information, so if you really want to know something, ask a very pointed question.

06-21-2002, 12:40 PM
I would be very interested to hear from CR/SoG guests that are staying or returning from their stay recently. I would be very concerned about poor attitudes, poor service and/or worn rooms. We will be staying at CR/SoG NGW right after Thanksgiving for a week. We are traveling with friends and sponsoring their room. We are really looking forward to this trip, and want it to be special. I would hate to have sub-standard treatment while staying at a Deluxe resort. We are used to the wonderful Shades of Green Resort and expect no less at the CR. Hopefully we will not be disappointed!!

Let's hear some recent reports please!! Thanks!!

06-21-2002, 06:36 PM
We stayed at CR in March. This type of treatment is not reserved for SOG guests. We were treated poorly and things were not up to par for us either and we paid 222.00 a night in the North Garden Wing. I wrote a letter to Disney regarding our treatment and have yet to hear from them.

06-21-2002, 06:44 PM
Isn't it strange how the treatment can change from one month to the next? We were there right after the Christmas holidays when you would expect the CM's to be tired an weary from the busy days previous, but all we encountered at the CR was very attentive, courteous, and friendly CM's, and a well appointed, clean and well maintained room. Oh, and we were there with a sizeable discount, as well!

06-22-2002, 11:47 AM
The Disney Stores no longer have "secret shoppers". They were eliminated about 2 years ago with Project Go. Along with greeters and CM folding clothes and keeping things tidy. Budget cuts!!

06-22-2002, 12:02 PM
Kerry, We have been secret shopped during our audit early this year, that is why I brought it up.

08-16-2002, 12:23 PM
Just bumping because it seems like the CR has a problem with their ceilings.

08-16-2002, 12:53 PM
We stayed at the CR a few years ago- concierge floor and found the CM to be very nasty and the service poor. In the snack bar the CM were making fun of the guests in Spanish. We stayed there in June with SOG discount and although the rooms were large and it was nice to have the monorail the rooms were FILTHY. The extra blankets and towels were used and stained. We were on the ground floor and the patio was littered with about 20 cigarette butts- non smoking room, garbage on the floor in the bathroom and the halls were a mess. My parents booked both rooms so my mother called and got no real apology or even clean towels. She wrote a letter after our trip to SOG and CR and got a canned response from SOG. I have stayed at a lot of the resorts and this by far has the worst service.

08-16-2002, 12:55 PM
I do not remember the room number, but I should have mentioned that the ceiling in our bathroom had a constant leak.

08-16-2002, 08:29 PM
I think this is a new level of service at the Contemporary. We had long looked forward to staying at the Contemporary and did so just a couple of weeks ago. We had a horrible stay with rude CM's and major billing problems! It got so bad that we left early. We will never stay at the Contemporary again. POR is a whole lot cheaper and the CM's are a whole lot more friendly. :p

08-16-2002, 09:42 PM
We were at the CR via SOG for a couple of nights mid-July. We had 2 adjoining rooms and both were wonderful. They were large, clean and very attractive( We had a nice view of the lake) We spent most of our time in the park , but all the CM's we encountered were very friendly and helpful. I didn't sense any negative attitude what so ever . Hope your stay is as nice as ours was, we would definitely go back.

08-16-2002, 11:32 PM
Interesting. I have stayed at the Contemporary (tower room, no concierge) multiple times and have had nothing but good experiences. In fact, the staff there went out of their way to be helpful to us on our last visit. I hope the place is not going downhill. The CR is the only resort we loved as much as the CBR. Come to think of it, we have had nothing but good experiences at the CBR, but lots of people complain about the service there too. Perhaps it is because we always travel in the off seasons.

08-17-2002, 02:22 AM
I try to only comment on issues i have knowlege about but this makes me very upset. SOG guests pay a considerable amount for their room. Comparabably military might be paying only a little less than rack rates. The " great rates" are given to even out the wages made by personnel according to their rank. I know you all know this---I'm just venting. I'm not military nor have I ever been militray. I only know these are the same people who can be called up on a monents notice to go to God only knows where--in weather God only knows to do a job protecting us all so we can go to WDW pay a " code or AP rate" and be treated better. I'm missing something here. That family needs more than $25. Someone behind the desk needs their behind kicked. ( Sorry) but as you can see I'm a little animated. Hopefully someone with inside connections can get this matter resolved to the satisfaction of the general public---That's people like you and me----I know I wouldn't stand for that kind of treatment even if the room would have been free or better yet even if they'd have paid me to stay there. As a final note --Let me say to the SOG guests---Thanks for being there and sorry WDW let you down for I'm sure you'd never let them down.


08-17-2002, 03:35 AM
For years I have found that the CMs at the Contemporary Resort have a little more attitude than anywhere else on property. Something as simple as changing a $20 bill was a great task for one desk CM. The only exception to this would be the California Grill where I find the staff to be on top of things.

08-17-2002, 11:18 AM
Originally posted by dalepool
I try to only comment on issues i have knowlege about but this makes me very upset. SOG guests pay a considerable amount for their room. Comparabably military might be paying only a little less than rack rates. The " great rates" are given to even out the wages made by personnel according to their rank. I know you all know this---I'm just venting. I'm not military nor have I ever been militray. <snip>

I'm sorry, but your info is a bit off so, I thought, as someone who worked as an SoG reservations agent for 3yrs, I'd clarify for you.

The SoG guests do NOT pay a considerable amount for their room (not the deluxes, any way). Due to SoG being closed for the expansion, Disney provided SoG with 300 rooms in the North Wing (more rooms than SoG had available to guests in their own hotel). Those rooms are still at the same cheap rate they would have paid at SoG, according to their pay grade ($66,89,95,99) + tax. Our Cat 1 guests are paying $73.26 to stay in the North Wing. That rate is no where near the $200 rack rate (including tax).

Through the Overflow program, I have seen the CR wing rooms about $129 (not including tax). $143.19 is still not near rack rate (I believe rack rate for a wing is $179, which comes out to $198.69, with tax).

As someone who was in the military for 10 yrs and stayed at SoG as a guest and through their overflow and as a former resv agent for SoG, I wanted to let you know your info was off a bit as far as what the personnel are paying.

Rates, at Disney, have been much lower in the past year, directly through Disney, due to Sep 11. Before, guests occassionally, could get cheaper rates going directly through Disney using a variety of codes. Now, due to the better deals Disney is offering because travel still isn't what it had been pre 9/11, I'd say guests truly need to do their homework because 50% of the time, you can probably do better, or no worse, on your own than through SoG.

The only time SoG guests pay close to rack rate, besides having the 2 disounted rates all ready sold out because the guest waited until the last minute, would be through the cheap AS resorts (where the discount is usually only about $15). Moderate resorts are discounted about $50/nt.

If you have any questions you would like to ask about the rates for those defending our country, I'd be happy to try and answer them for you. :)

08-17-2002, 12:46 PM
Just to be fair, I think what Patty was trying to say is that income wise what the military pays for rooms at SOG or with overflow is still quite a bit of money to some considering the wages that we pay our military personnel. My husband who is retired military brings home just a little over $900 a month meaning he was making $23000 a year after 20 years as a computer technician responsible for nuclear safety, etc. No self respecting civilian with that much experience and responsibility would be settling for $23000 a year and he wouldn't have to. If that was all we had that $89 we would be paying would be gold

I know when I was in we didn't make a whole lot of money compared to jobs on the "outside" I'm sure that hasn't changed much in the last few years. That $73 an E1 thru E5 pays on his or her salary may just be comparable to someone doing the same job possibly paying rack rates.

That being said there is no excuse for anyone to be treated the way some of these people are describing. It doesn't matter what you are paying for your room, you are at that hotel and everyone should be treated as if they are paying the "rack" rate.

And ceilings falling down whether some one was injured or not is a safety issue and that definitely needs to be dealt with.

08-17-2002, 03:22 PM
Thank You Tammy, you stated exactly what I was trying to say. I guess I might need to take a class on communications. LOL. (You and Joe are just the sweetest!!!!!!! )

RE: FirstNo---I thank you for taking time to "set me straight" God only knows people have been trying to do that for years.....This is meant to be funny---not posts please. I do believe Tammy got down to the bear bones of my issue. But thanks again aways nice to have an expert on board.

PS I have a nephew Honeymooning at the Hale Koa in Hawaii this weekend --( I'm off to the wedding--now) He is staying at a beautiful resort paying "rank"--rates.


08-17-2002, 03:23 PM
After reading this thread, I changed my reservation at CR (CKO rate of $179) to the BC...and a substantially more expensive rate. I will say - I told the CM exactly why I was switching my reservation, and I invited her to speak with her supervisor about it.

After the events of the past year (in fact, REGARDLESS of them), I am fuming that SoG guests are not being treated with the utmost respect. It is inexcusable to treat the members of our armed forces with disdain or as charity cases. I don't care HOW much you are paying to stay at a resort - you are PAYING, and that should be enough for the resort to treat you as an honored guest.

Boy, am I ever angry!! I love WDW, but sometimes Disney really gets my goat.

08-17-2002, 03:56 PM
I have read just as many positive posts from SOG CR guests:D ! What we will do is check into our room and give it a once over inspection(we do this anywhere we stay). If something is really wrong we will ask to be moved to another room. $95 a night at the CR is too good to pass up over a few unfortunate incidents. I wonder if all these bad rooms are in the same area? We have had Good/Bad CM's at all the resorts we have stayed at. Just luck of the draw;) !

08-17-2002, 04:10 PM
Uh-oh, I'm worried. We have three rooms booked at the CR with the SoG deal; I really hope these CM problems AND the deteriorating rooms are an isolated incident. We stayed at the Wilderness Lodge before- we have no problem paying the regular room rates, but hey, who can pass up the military rate? Plus, this way we are going for 9 nights instead of the 5 we were able to afford on our last trip. I'm really sorry this happened to your friend- no one deserves to be treated like that!

08-17-2002, 06:47 PM
I think it is a little easier for me to get on my resort high horse, as we are not military - we are just using the fall rate codes, so we are not getting unbelievable rates. Honestly, I think if I was paying under $100 for the CR, I would give it a shot (though I do not think this gives them the right to put SoG guests in a room that is in disrepair - why would they keep putting people in rooms with soaked ceilings/tile?? There have been SEVERAL posts that describe this!!). However, I can't fathom the thought of paying $200 (with tax) a night after these posts - I'll just shell out a little more and move to a different hotel. I am sure that there are some people who have fantastic rooms and are treated fine by the CR CMs. It is just that it should be EVERYONE!!!

08-17-2002, 07:08 PM
I hate to say it, but you can find these kinds of threads on each and every resort; the good, the bad and the ugly. Different people staying in different rooms at the same resort and completely different experiences. Same people in the same resort at different times and different experiences(even Tikiman had a bad Poly experience), I have seen some of these conflicting GF concierge threads lately. Now if there are many rooms at CR that have collapsing ceilings they should take care of that ASAP, a true hazard. If it is just a couple, maybe they can close them up until further repair. Maybe someone can share the room numbers so we can avoid those!:smooth:

08-17-2002, 08:24 PM
I'm really sorry to hear that anyone, especially our military people, have problems like this when staying at a resort. Hope everyting works our and gets better there.

I'm no real big fan of SOG. Stayed there in 1999 and had problems of our own. Almost thought I was in the Twilight Zone. But that's something else.

I find the Hale Koa to be a very different resort from SOG. Anyone ever get teh chance to stay at the Hale Koa please do so. IMHO - it is the best deal in Hawaii by far. Top notch place.

08-17-2002, 08:39 PM
Originally posted by BibbidiBobbidiBoo
I have read just as many positive posts from SOG CR guests:D ! What we will do is check into our room and give it a once over inspection(we do this anywhere we stay). If something is really wrong we will ask to be moved to another room. $95 a night at the CR is too good to pass up over a few unfortunate incidents. I wonder if all these bad rooms are in the same area? We have had Good/Bad CM's at all the resorts we have stayed at. Just luck of the draw;) !

I hope you have a great stay and will report the results/findings here when you return. I just made reservations for next Jun and have to admit that some of what I've read hear has me reconsidering. My husband's brother and his family are going with us and it will be their first trip to WDW and I'd like it to be great :) Our family stayed at SOG on our first visit (Dec 99) and absolutely loved it and if we could wait for them to reopen we would, but my oldest will be starting college by then so we have to go before he leaves for school.

08-18-2002, 07:01 AM
Would all of you DIS'ers out there who have had a good CR/SOG experience please post it? We're going in 8 weeks and our spirits need a lift after reading this thread. Thanks in advance.

08-18-2002, 08:15 AM
Originally posted by dalepool
Thank You Tammy, you stated exactly what I was trying to say. I guess I might need to take a class on communications. LOL. (You and Joe are just the sweetest!!!!!!! )

RE: FirstNo---I thank you for taking time to "set me straight" God only knows people have been trying to do that for years.....This is meant to be funny---not posts please. I do believe Tammy got down to the bear bones of my issue. But thanks again aways nice to have an expert on board.

PS I have a nephew Honeymooning at the Hale Koa in Hawaii this weekend --( I'm off to the wedding--now) He is staying at a beautiful resort paying "rank"--rates.


You're very welcome!! And thank you to Tammy for clarifying what you were writing.

When I was a guest at SoG, it definitely wasn't "Disney." However, I've had many guests over the years (as an employee) tell me that they've stayed with Disney and they much more preferred the 'welcome home' atmosphere they feel they received at SoG. I never felt that. I would have preferred to have stayed at Disney, but the rates at SoG for being Cat 1 were just too good to pass up. And, since I spent a lot of time at the MK, it was convenient, too.

I've heard wonderful things at about the Hale Koa, but don't think I'll ever get there (I was affected by the 'stop/loss program' and am still in the reserves until the gov't lets me out). I don't have much desire to go to Hawaii, but I don't believe I've ever heard one complaint about the place.

And, as I've mentioned before, if you (SoG guest) have a problem while checking in/out or during your stay and it's between the hours of 7am-10pm, a supervisor from SoG is in the office (room) next to the SoG ticket office. Please go there and speak with this person, in person. While writing a letter after the fact is ok, taking care of the situation as it's happening or right after is better. Disney, from my experience, is not the easiest company to deal with. It depends on who you get. Some of them would bend over backwards for me and give me just about any thing I wanted for my guests. A few others wouldn't give me the time of day. The same thing can happen at THEIR hotel. Even though the SoG person may sympathize with you and feel terribly, depending on which CM they speak with, they may not be able to do much for you, either.

I think all of those people who have been mistreated, one way or the other, should write a letter to the pres. of DW; Al Weiss (we share the same eye dr...how's that for a small world?). Start letting this man know that his CMs aren't showing the proper respect and dignity to those serving their country. Get enough complaints and some heads may start to roll.....Stranger things have happened. :)

08-18-2002, 09:14 AM
We stayed at CR a few years back. We paid full Conciege room price, I believe it was around $350 a night, for our room in the tower facing the MK. The room was large but nothing special at all. I can only say no one treated us like conciege guest. The biggest perks were free cookies for the kids, free drinks and a special room key to get to our floor. I personally would never stay there again no matter what the price of the room is. It is just not our style and there are so many better choices at WDW in my opinion. They need big time changes with their staff and decor.


Bob NC
08-18-2002, 09:35 AM

Our experience at CR was excellent. We had 11 people in 4 rooms. There was not one single housekeeping or maintenance issue in any of the rooms. You are going to find bad posts about each and every Disney resort hotel. Don't go into CR with the attitude that you are just waiting for something bad to happen, because, under those conditions you probably will find something to complain about.

From the front desk CM's to the housekeepers to the CM's at the pool, we couldn't have been treated better.

The deal to stay at CR through SOG is a once in a lifetime deal to stay at a deluxe for value resort prices, enjoy it.

08-18-2002, 10:21 AM
Thanks, Bob.

08-18-2002, 10:41 AM
I agree with Bob. Anyone who can jump on this option should do so. Check out your room right away. If you see something not right, asked to be moved there and then.
And it's true that different guests stay at the same resort and see/experience things completely different. We all have different experiences, even though we are at the same place at the same time.
That's one thing that makes Disney great and keeps us coming back.

Cathy baby RN
08-18-2002, 11:31 AM
Does anyone know the name of the manager of the Contemporary?