PDA

View Full Version : Did You Know?


oakmanner
05-28-2009, 07:15 AM
Just got back from SSR last week. We had a two bedroom villa (dedicated) and was surprised to learn that only the internet connection in the master bedroom was "active".

We had two lap tops with us ours and my kids who were staying in the second bedroom had theirs. The connection in the master bedroom worked no problem but when we tried to get the internet to work in the second bedroom we were unsuccessful.

Eventually we called the front desk who in turn gave us a number to call the IT department which we did.

The answer we got was this: That only the internet port in the master bedroom is "hot", that is the way they set up the villas at SSR. I didnít ask but assume this is not an issue if you have a lock off unit given it may be used as a studio at times.

Disappointing and doesnít make a whole lot of sense given the internet jack is there. Oh yeah and they also said even if we wanted the port activated it would take a couple weeks because they use an outside contractor for this service.:confused3

Ended up not being a big deal we were on vacation and internet access was not that important. But what if we were not staying with family and we had stayed with friends and they brought a computer? This would have been more of an issue.

Thoughts? Any one else run into this issue? What about other DVC Resorts?

dianeschlicht
05-28-2009, 07:21 AM
Well now, THAT is stupid! Why bother to put the jack in there if it's not going to be hot????? We have solved teh problem of only one jack per unit by bringing a wireless router. That way both of us can use our laptops at the same time.

wildernessDad
05-28-2009, 08:04 AM
That's pretty dumb. DUMB! They need to fix that problem.

Disneypirate85
05-28-2009, 05:43 PM
We travel with a 4 port hub and extra cat5 its smaller then a wireless router. Shawnpirate:

MLK-RI
05-28-2009, 05:58 PM
Yes it does seem silly, but I've found it in most of the resorts. We also travel with a wireless router.

LVSWL
05-28-2009, 06:17 PM
Thanks OP! Just put Router on my list!:)

Tara
05-28-2009, 07:09 PM
We travel with a 4 port hub and extra cat5 its smaller then a wireless router. Shawnpirate:

That would have to be a mighty short length of cat5 to be smaller than an Apple Airport Express. ;)

disneynutz
05-28-2009, 07:28 PM
If you book a lock-off, you get two Internet connections and two AC thermostats.

Doug7856
05-28-2009, 07:36 PM
We had the same issue with a 2BR dedicated at SSR. Never could figure out why they would do such a thing.

DebbieB
05-28-2009, 08:46 PM
If you bring a router, how do you connect it? Just put the cable into the back? I'm bringing my laptop, it's already programmed for that router. The actual program for the router is on my desktop, which is connected to the router by cable.

tjkraz
05-28-2009, 09:26 PM
If you bring a router, how do you connect it? Just put the cable into the back? I'm bringing my laptop, it's already programmed for that router. The actual program for the router is on my desktop, which is connected to the router by cable.

You may have to run the router's setup program in order to get it to interface with the resort's Internet service.

If you do any amount of traveling, you might want to invest in a separate router for travel purposes. Your router from home would work, but you may spend a ton of time configuring and re-configuring it every time you leave/return. You can get a wireless travel router for about $50.

Brian Noble
05-28-2009, 10:10 PM
Good advice. I have a travel wireless router that's about the size of a deck of cards. Love it.

sibarb
05-31-2009, 07:36 PM
We ran into the same problem with only one internet access at SSR in a dedicated 2BR. At OKW there was a router so we could access to two machines in the living room.

This year are staying at Kidani Village does anyone know if there is more than 1 internet connection in the dedicated 2 Bedrooms.

Thanks,
Susan

oakmanner
05-31-2009, 09:34 PM
popcorn::

toocherie
05-31-2009, 11:25 PM
Which section were you in? We were in a 2-bedroom dedicated last November in the Paddock and didn't have that issue--I used the connection in the second bedroom all the time.

mecllap
05-31-2009, 11:35 PM
It's so bizarre that they don't have wireless available to all guests -- just stayed at a HoJo and they even had it.

kikiq
06-01-2009, 01:31 AM
Which section were you in? We were in a 2-bedroom dedicated last November in the Paddock and didn't have that issue--I used the connection in the second bedroom all the time.

I have the same question, which section? I just double checked with my brother and we were in a dedicated 2 bdrm last summer in Congress Park. I did set up my travel router so my daughters could get internet. My brother worked in his bedroom all week over the internet at night. The only thing we had to do was get another ethernet cord.

Deb & Bill
06-01-2009, 10:56 PM
It's evident that a contractor did all the installation in the villas. We're in the BCV right now and the HSIA is located behind the sleeper sofa in the living room. If you try to work on the table, the internet cable just barely reaches to the connection. There is a perfectly lovely desk in the master bedroom that would have made a great location to use the computer. Every hotel I've stayed in for business had the connection at the desk.