PDA

View Full Version : new owner @ Bay Lake

Karszar
02-21-2009, 10:32 PM
I just purchased points at Bay Lake today. I am an extreme novice at all this Disney stuff so I am here to ask the experts (although after reading a few threads I am overwhelmed at all the acronyms). Even though I bought at Bay Lake can't I use my points to stay at another resort at WDW? Is there a benefit to buy at a particular place or can't you just use the point for whereever you want to stay?

Also what is a TIW card?

mejkjj97
02-21-2009, 10:36 PM
Welcome:cheer2:

I am also new to DVC and these boards are great. What I can tell you is yes you can stay at any resort. The benefit at staying at your home is you can book 11 months in advance and at all other DVC properties it's 7 months in advance. This is as much as I can share. Our home base in AKV. We are staying this year at SSR in August on Developer points.

These boards have been very helpful to me in planning!

thesupersmartguy
02-21-2009, 10:53 PM
You may book any other DVC (Disney Vacation Club) resort 7 months out.

You may book your "Home" resort at 11 months.

TIW is "Disney's Tables In Wonderland" card allowing it's holder 20% off select food and beverage items. I can speak from personal use and say it is wonderful. I would not go without it.

Sandisw
02-21-2009, 10:55 PM
Welcome home!!! And Congratulations!!

As the PP said, you can book at any of the DVC resort but have an advantage to stay at your home resort since you get priority booking at the 11 month window.

Owning at BLT will be very beneficial if you travel during the holidays. TIW stands for "Tables in Wonder" card. It is a discoutn card that can be purchased for $60.00 a year but it gives you a 20% discount at many dining locations through Disney, including 20% off adult beverages. It is available to Annual Passholders (AP).