PDA

View Full Version : Newbie going to WDW for first time ?'s

missysid
01-27-2009, 11:42 AM
Hi everyone! I am a newbie from Illinois and we are planning a family vacation to WDW either the end of December 2009 or the middle of January 2010. There is SO much information and price options out there I am feeling overwhelmed. What do you suggest for a first time visitor for booking? I would like to stay on the grounds in one of the "value" resorts and we are looking at either a 5 or 7 day stay. We have one child (son age 10 will be 11). My sister and her husband are also looking at going with us so there would be 4 adults and one child total.

I think right now we are going to drive down since sis is scared to fly. Anything we should be doing now to help with the trip? Who should we contact about booking? I have been on the WDW website - do most of you book there or do you get better deals with a travel agent.

I am very sorry for the long post and so many questions here today. To be honest I am feeling very stressed out trying to figure this all out and get everyones schedule to fit together. But that is why I am trying to start early.

Thanks

Mel

mooneyda
01-27-2009, 11:46 AM
welcome ..even though the decorations are up in Dec crowds quite a bit lower in Middle Jan.The one thing I would suggest doing right now getting some info towards planning ( never to early to plan)just kind of look around here and Allears.net is a good reference too

Figment_Fan
01-27-2009, 12:03 PM
I agree with moneyda, read and research. This site is great and allears.net is a must. Register for the weekly newsletter from allears.net.

The deal I have with the DW is that if she can find a cheaper way for the 4 of us to fly, we will. Never happened. We always drive. We live in central