PDA

View Full Version : Online Check-in at southwest question

SheilaHeartsDisney
01-03-2009, 08:46 AM
Ok so this is the first time I have ever checked-in online and recieved a boarding pass. Now i got on at exactly 24 hours and it says A34. Now i don't know about you but if that means row 34 that doesn't sound like agood deal. Has anyone flown southwest and knows what those numbers mean?? Also since this is my first time checking in online do i still have to go to the counter to check my bags or is there somehwere else I can go to do that??? And if i wish can i still go to the counter for southwest??? Thanks for your help.

SheilaHeartsDisney
01-03-2009, 08:54 AM
I just read it again and it doesn't say row 34 it says position 34. What does that mean???

SheilaHeartsDisney
01-03-2009, 08:54 AM
I just read it again and it doesn't say row 34 it says position 34. What does that mean???

Tina
01-03-2009, 09:04 AM
Southwest does not have assigned seating. Instead passengers line up in numerical order in 3 groups (A, B, C). You have a great position. You are in the first boarding group (A) and you are 34th in line to board. Once on board, you may choose any seat you wish.

Yes, you may still approach the check-in counter, if you wish.

I haven't flown SW recently, so I'm not sure if they have luggage-check lanes or not. I often fly United, which has 2 kinds of counter-service -- check in and baggage check only. United also uses self-serv kiosks in some airports to check bags. I'm not sure if Southwest has that or not.

Dokietoes
01-03-2009, 09:05 AM
Southwest boards in three groups, A 1-60, B 1-60, and C 1-whatever. A 1-15 are resevered for business select passengers, and there are not usually too many of them, so you would lne up on the A 31-60 side and be roughly 20th or so to board.

SheilaHeartsDisney
01-03-2009, 09:11 AM
ohhh cool thanks for your help. Turned out to be better than i thought.

Disneyhappy
01-03-2009, 09:11 AM