PDA

View Full Version : DD 13 was given the hard push to open a credit card at Sears

patsal
12-16-2008, 08:52 AM
I took my youngest shopping last night (the mall was totally dead from 4:30 to 6:30 pm last night I parked three spaces from the door!). While there she was making a purchase at Sears and when she checked out they gave her the hard push to open a credit card. Honestly asked her 4 times, DD just kept saying no thanks. I told her next time to tell the clerk (who was not a teen or inexperienced), thats a great idea, I'm 13, don't have a job but I really want that big screen TV for my room, what a great way to get it!:rotfl:
BTW she does not look like she is even close to legal age--if anything she looks younger than she is. As a HS teacher I know some kids look much older than they are, but she isn't one of them. DS certainly, but not DD!

PaulaSue
12-16-2008, 09:55 AM
:scared1: I would call the store and talk to the manager and complain!

PrincessMama605
12-16-2008, 10:02 AM
I would call and complain too. I know some stores have quotas for stuff like that but trying to get a 13 yo to fill out a cc application is very irresponsible imo.

disneynuts777
12-16-2008, 11:01 AM
I took my youngest shopping last night (the mall was totally dead from 4:30 to 6:30 pm last night I parked three spaces from the door!). While there she was making a purchase at Sears and when she checked out they gave her the hard push to open a credit card. Honestly asked her 4 times, DD just kept saying no thanks. I told her next time to tell the clerk (who was not a teen or inexperienced), thats a great idea, I'm 13, don't have a job but I really want that big screen TV for my room, what a great way to get it!:rotfl:
BTW she does not look like she is even close to legal age--if anything she looks younger than she is. As a HS teacher I know some kids look much older than they are, but she isn't one of them. DS certainly, but not DD!