PDA

View Full Version : Taking your laptop...


two*little*birds
10-30-2008, 09:02 PM
I've never taken my laptop on a plane before - is there anything I need to know?

Any hints/tips for the airport as well - we'll be flying out of Buffalo.

Thanks ;)

cslittle999
10-30-2008, 09:17 PM
The only thing special about traveling with a laptop is that you need to take it out of the bag and send it through the xray machine separately. You can't use it on the plane until they announce it is okay to use electronic devices. If you do bring it out, be careful of the person in front of you reclining. If your not careful the screen can be caught by the seat as it moves back.

dgkjh
10-30-2008, 09:19 PM
For the most part, at the airport at least, just make sure it is easily accessible so that you can take it out and turn it on if necessary through security. Make sure you are fully charged beforehand so that if you want to use it on the plane, you can.

I know we are likely to take ours as it is helpful for storing photos and video as we go along. I am just thinking I will want to take along a laptop lock cable so that I can secure it in our room. Does anyone have advice on that?

Thumper_ehhhhh
10-30-2008, 09:20 PM
We have taken ours a few times on trips. We brought it on as carry on and put it under the seat in front of us. Make sure the battery is charged in case they want you to turn it on. (same goes with cameras) You will more than likely have to remove it from the bag for the x-ray machine and place it in a bucket so make sure your laptop bag is clean in that section so stuff wont fall out all over the place. Other than that no problems. No worries enjoy your trip.

networktek
10-31-2008, 08:37 AM
i always take mine i like to look at the photopass pic onlne at the hotel and check my emails at the buffalo airport to use the internet there it is $9.99 for 24hours same as in disney

DearDaisyinDurham
10-31-2008, 09:02 AM
tech :worship: genuises, your input please - the ads came out yesterday (best buy future shop) is $449 a fair price for the toshiba satellite laptop featuring amd athlon x2 tk-57 dual core processor? (please understand I am not techie just a disie :surfweb: )

was planning to wait for black friday however this seems good

rewok
10-31-2008, 06:38 PM
tech :worship: genuises, your input please - the ads came out yesterday (best buy future shop) is $449 a fair price for the toshiba satellite laptop featuring amd athlon x2 tk-57 dual core processor? (please understand I am not techie just a disie :surfweb: )

was planning to wait for black friday however this seems good

Not a genius, just a techie (both for work and leisure), but it is a decent deal. However, there is only 1GB of RAM, and with Vista this is simply not enough. It would make the computer pretty slow, even if you only do simple stuff like web browsing, office work, ... It should be possible to upgrade this to 2GB (30-40$ for the part), however, if you can't do it yourself, the cost will be too much and it would be better just to get a model with 2GB integrated, like the Toshiba at 550$ at Best Buy. Would love to tell you to go ahead, but I would not for my friends and family, so I want you to not be disappointed.

Basically, check the total memory, min 2GB. If you want to do light stuff, most CPUs are OK. The rest is standard on all models: basic wireless, wired network, most still have a modem. Some people hate some brands, however on the lower price models, I haven't seen any big differences. The Acers seem a bit cheap, so at the same price I'd choose another brand, but it is a matter of personal preference!

DearDaisyinDurham
10-31-2008, 07:10 PM
Not a genius, just a techie (both for work and leisure), but it is a decent deal. However, there is only 1GB of RAM, and with Vista this is simply not enough. It would make the computer pretty slow, even if you only do simple stuff like web browsing, office work, ... It should be possible to upgrade this to 2GB (30-40$ for the part), however, if you can't do it yourself, the cost will be too much and it would be better just to get a model with 2GB integrated, like the Toshiba at 550$ at Best Buy. Would love to tell you to go ahead, but I would not for my friends and family, so I want you to not be disappointed.

Basically, check the total memory, min 2GB. If you want to do light stuff, most CPUs are OK. The rest is standard on all models: basic wireless, wired network, most still have a modem. Some people hate some brands, however on the lower price models, I haven't seen any big differences. The Acers seem a bit cheap, so at the same price I'd choose another brand, but it is a matter of personal preference!

:thumbsup2 thanks, that's the stuff I need to know!! unfortunately I'm not the most patient person waiting for things to download :rolleyes1 so will keep looking and def. look for 2GB.

rewok
11-01-2008, 12:19 PM
:thumbsup2 thanks, that's the stuff I need to know!! unfortunately I'm not the most patient person waiting for things to download :rolleyes1 so will keep looking and def. look for 2GB.

No problem, I'll be happy to help out again if you need it. Just PM if it's urgent!

DearDaisyinDurham
11-01-2008, 02:36 PM
thanks!!

not urgent, but here's another question

once we get the laptop, how do we "do" wireless? i.e., we have rogers high speed for this desktop computer (not dial up) - do we buy that new rocket stick thing?

thanks!!

Ham Ham
11-01-2008, 03:11 PM
You have a couple of options.

You can buy a wireless router (http://www.bestbuy.ca/catalog/proddetail.asp?logon=&langid=EN&sku_id=0926INGFS10093527&catid=26055), set it up between the modem and the PC you already have and the router will send the internet signal throughout your house using Wifi (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wi-Fi).
Laps tops or notebooks have a Wifi transceiver that allows them connect to the wireless signal being distributed through you house.

You will also be able to connect your iPod touch via Wifi to the net.

If you rent your modem from Rogers you can upgrade to modem/wireless router for $1.50 more a month.

Don't forget to secure the router so that the connection is not open to the neighbourhood.

http://www.vbportal.com/gallery/data/3048/networkmess.jpg
http://i165.photobucket.com/albums/u51/witchywife/Poutine1.jpg

PBX1
11-01-2008, 04:42 PM
thanks!!

not urgent, but here's another question

once we get the laptop, how do we "do" wireless? i.e., we have rogers high speed for this desktop computer (not dial up) - do we buy that new rocket stick thing?

thanks!!

I wouldn't do wireless unless you know how to secure a wireless connection. As someone already mentioned, if it is not secure, all your neighbors can use you connection for surfing or drop in on your online banking.

mtmbyck
11-02-2008, 06:32 AM
It is very simple to hook up a secure wireless connection! In fact, I'm a moron with computers and I did it no problem -it cues you to do it as I recall (I am with Rogers).

I would check with Tiger Direct before purchasing. They are in Markham and they also ship for free. They have some amazing deals. DH got a nice laptop for $449 in July.

Don't rent the wireless - buy it so that if you move it can come with you!

Ham Ham
11-02-2008, 07:54 AM
Don't rent the wireless - buy it so that if you move it can come with you!

Advantage to renting the modem/wireless-router is that if there is a problem with it Rogers will support it. They can even control it remotely to reset your password.

Agreed configuring the router into a secure mode is not very difficult. But if technology is a little imposing for you it can be frustrating.

You can find cheap wireless routers for around $40 and save the additional $1.50 a month in rental charges.

Click image for link to info.
http://images.tigerdirect.ca/skuimages/large/B20-5172P-main-wifi-2.jpg (http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=578283&Sku=B20-5172%20P)

DearDaisyinDurham
11-02-2008, 09:18 AM
wow!!!! thanks guys that's a huge help. so much to think about, glad I asked.

so, wireless SECURED router. that link is great. thanks again.

PBX1
11-02-2008, 11:18 AM
Advantage to renting the modem/wireless-router is that if there is a problem with it Rogers will support it. They can even control it remotely to reset your password.

Agreed configuring the router into a secure mode is not very difficult. But if technology is a little imposing for you it can be frustrating.

You can find cheap wireless routers for around $40 and save the additional $1.50 a month in rental charges.

Click image for link to info.
http://images.tigerdirect.ca/skuimages/large/B20-5172P-main-wifi-2.jpg (http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=578283&Sku=B20-5172%20P)

Unfortunately the wireless router you linked to only supports WEP which is a very unsecure protocol and is easily cracked. I wouldn't consider anything less than a device that supports WPA2.
Mtmbyck, you claim it is easy to set up a secure wireless system, I'm curious as to what you're set up is. I have my doubts as to how "secure" it is.

Ham Ham
11-02-2008, 05:44 PM
Unfortunately the wireless router you linked to only supports WEP which is a very unsecure protocol and is easily cracked. I wouldn't consider anything less than a device that supports WPA2.
Mtmbyck, you claim it is easy to set up a secure wireless system, I'm curious as to what you're set up is. I have my doubts as to how "secure" it is.
Notice in my post I said cheap. You get what you pay for. Never said I recommended that router.

If I didn't have a wireless router already I'd probably have Rogers supply one to me.

If someone is determined and has the ability they'll hack your network.

PBX 1 please provide some tips for us on how to have a truly secure network and recommended devices.

http://www.spitcomp.com/uploads/images/network_security.jpg

DearDaisyinDurham
11-02-2008, 05:48 PM
:flower3: yes tips appreciated!!!!

Thanks,
Daisy (who finally had the :cloud9: poutine for dinner)

rewok
11-04-2008, 04:51 PM
Well, I guess here we have a case of the cobbler's family not having shoes (does this saying exists in English?), but we are not very paranoid about security, and only have some basic one! This are for many reasons for our current setup, and we run check frequently.

However, when helping out my "non-techie" friends and family, I usually have them setup some type of encryption, whether WEP (the lesser encryption) or WPA, and make them change their SSID and router password. I can do it on the phone (well DBF more often does because he's more patient than me!), just helping them out go through the motions. The routers now come with a configuration CD, and it helps a lot for newbies.

Basically, you need encryption (WPA or WEP), mostly to prevent others from connecting to your network (intentionaly or not) and using your Internet. For that, you create a passphrase on the router (ex. Daisy is a Disney addict, try not to be too obvious ;) ), and when your wireless card on your PC will connect, it will ask you to enter this phrase (you can setup this to only do it once).

Changing the router SSID makes it easier to identify YOUR home network (because all the houses on the block will show) instead of being one of the 10 "Linksys" (router brand), so just use for ex. Daisy.

And finally, changing the router password is for pretty obvious reasons: just in case someone does connect to your network, at least they won't be able to change your configurations and lock you out of your Internet!

As a final word, this will protect you in 99% of the cases, some talented pirate might be able to go through with lots of effort, but frankly, the chance of one of those living on you block (and having something to prove) is pretty slim. (If you see a white van with antennas parked in front of your home, not that's a another story! :laughing: )

As for brands, I wouldn't buy a Belkin, but both DLink & Linksys are OK.

DearDaisyinDurham
11-04-2008, 08:44 PM
Wow, thanks!!
I'm going to print out your advice & use it.

My ? after what PBX1 said, was, having a "wireless router" in the house - that would provide WiFi for a laptop & an iTouch - that's why it needs security, b/c it's wireless. Right?

But would having a "wireless router" - does that put my desk top computer/system at risk? Or are we talking two totally separate things?

And yes we have that saying in English too, the shoe maker's children never have shoes! LOL.

Thanks again!

:flower3: Daisy Disney Addict (I like that!)

Ham Ham
11-04-2008, 09:22 PM
Wow, thanks!!
I'm going to print out your advice & use it.

My ? after what PBX1 said, was, having a "wireless router" in the house - that would provide WiFi for a laptop & an iTouch - that's why it needs security, b/c it's wireless. Right?

But would having a "wireless router" - does that put my desk top computer/system at risk? Or are we talking two totally separate things?

And yes we have that saying in English too, the shoe maker's children never have shoes! LOL.

Thanks again!

:flower3: Daisy Disney Addict (I like that!)

You need to secure the wireless router to stop folks from stealing your bandwith and protect all of you devices on your home network.

Bandwith.
If you have a neighbour who is downloading a lot of movies, music games, etc and can access your network it could push you over your monthly bandwidth allotment and cost you $$.


Securing the router and your devices.
It's kind of like locking your door so if they want to break into your house they need a little effort.
If someone wants to get in they'll figure out a way.
The same with your network in your home.

If a pro really wants to hack into your network it's going to happen. Even if you don't have a wirless network some pros can hack through your modem and waltz right into your computer.

You can be hacked, but the chances are rare if you take a few precautions like have a pass word on your wireless network and use encryption for sensitive documents.

Here's a couple of articles and the Microsft XP page on securing your computer. You don't need to take every precaution mentioned but it gives you some ideas. Backing up your is very important.
http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/9523298/
http://www.dailycupoftech.com/images/02.png
http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/using/networking/security/default.mspx

http://www.dailycupoftech.com/images/10Ways.png

pxlbarrel
11-05-2008, 05:39 AM
Getting back to the original poster's message....

If you bring your laptop, you'll notice that there seems to be free wifi at the airport in Orlando. That's pretty sweet if you don't feel like spending your final bits of money on the Disney Store in the terminal. LOL

who's ur daddy?
11-05-2008, 06:27 AM
Free Internet at the DVC resorts for DVC members! Was great not having to pay $9.95/day like last year.

If you're staying at one of the Disney resorts, bring your wireless router with you and you can surf the Internet from anywhere in your room!

DearDaisyinDurham
11-22-2008, 12:04 PM
thanks!!

not urgent, but here's another question

once we get the laptop, how do we "do" wireless? i.e., we have rogers high speed for this desktop computer (not dial up) - do we buy that new rocket stick thing?

thanks!!

finally, bought the laptop & having a future shop tech come to set up secured wireless.

being a rogers "lite" hispeed customer, the tech guy said that we get a certain amount of wireless from rogers w/out extra charges, does anyone know about this? TIA!

ccudmore
11-30-2011, 06:03 PM
While you're waiting for your flight at the airport, look around for electrical outlets and find a seat nearby. Plug it in to make sure it's fully charged for the flight.

My 2 princesses
12-01-2011, 08:35 AM
Free Internet at the DVC resorts for DVC members! Was great not having to pay $9.95/day like last year.

If you're staying at one of the Disney resorts, bring your wireless router with you and you can surf the Internet from anywhere in your room!

DVC resorts are wireless now isn't it??? So waiting to take my tablet with me, thanks to the Blackberry Playbook sale:cool1: