PDA

View Full Version : The long trek trip to DLP from the islands last day update

paula34
10-11-2008, 06:07 PM
Hi there I have never written a trip report before (have been Disneyworld three times but never motivated myself lol) This trip report comes with a warning, it does have a very nasty moment in it, and a happy/sad ending (happy because I know I have done the right thing and sad because…well life’s just like that and you work through it) the writing down of it all is part of my working through it.

The gang

Me. 42 year old, who turns into a big kid at Disney (don’t we all)

DD Shannon, light of my life 4 year old, very hyper and still prone to acute deafness
(when orders are given) and tantrums, makes up for it by being very loving and giving :love:

My partner 42 year old who is never impressed by anything

Emmer 15, prone to occasional strops but generally sweet(her name is Emma but Shannon always adds a r, so now emmer)

So it starts

The decision; we were looking for a cheap family holiday for us all, mostly at the park in Spain (which I can’t spell lol) and had a peek at Disney along the way *ahem*
We first looked at 4 days but decided that it was too short for all the travel we had to do, then we found the dream castle hotel for 8 days for £749 for the 4 of us deal, so we snapped it up. Booked the boat, bus, flights and shuttles. The tickets I bought of eBay and made awesome savings.

Day One;

Our start of travel is a Tuesday night at 11.45pm, on the northlink ferry service from Kirkwall, in the Orkney Islands, to Aberdeen. My dad has very kindly offered to take us to the ferry, so he picks us up at 11 and we are on our way. We arrive at check in hopes that we can get straight on and get settled into our cabin before Shannon wakes up too much….no chance, the earlier boat is still unloading so we have to board late, and through the car entrance grrrrrr :rolleyes: