PDA

View Full Version : anyone looking for a SPH cabin for 5/16/09 western?

dznyacct
08-18-2008, 10:09 PM
OK, a really bad day for me may hopefully be a really good day for a DISer. It is with great sadness that I realized today that I need to cancel the reservation I have for the 5/16/09 DCL western. What makes it even worse for me is the fact that I have a SPH cabin (5520) :(. To make a long story short, I have been an Accountant at a large multi-specialty medical clinic for over 22 years. In May 2007 our department along with a few others was told that once the new hospital that our clinic was in a joint venture with opened in October 2008, we would no longer be needed. Yes, the news was absolutely devastating. I could fill buckets with the amount of tears I've cried. Morale has been horrible and people have left giving us remaining more to do. I "thought" my life turned around a few months ago when I was approached that there would be the need for a local Accountant after all. I had to apply and interview and I was offered the job (a lateral pay move which was awesome). Crazy me, I believed everything was OK. I bought a new car and gave my son my old one (he and I had been sharing for the last year until my job situation was settled). Then I anxiously planned this cruise for me, DH, DS and DS's best friend to celebrate the end of their Freshman year of college. We did a DCL cruise 4 years ago and LOVED it.

A few weeks ago I was told that due to some last minute legal restructuring there would NOT be an Accountant position after all. I was numb and in disbelief (and really, really pi$*ed :(). I have started the wonderful task of job hunting, hoping to time it with the end of the year (we get a hefty retention/severance package if we stay till the bitter (and it will be bitter :() end). I signed up to take an intereviewing and resume writing class that starts this week.