PDA

View Full Version : telephone question


Sue F UK
03-03-2002, 05:36 AM
Since becoming addicted to the DIS I have been spending an inordinate amount of time on the internet. A problem I am sure you will all sympathise with, my dear DIS friends, is that nobody can get through to our house, least of all DH when he phones from work (something he does far too much in my opinion!) We have 1571 which takes messages but it doesn't solve the problem.

The obvious solution is to get another phone line installed. Has anyone done this, and does it cost a fortune?

All thoughts and suggestions gratefully appreciated as DH is grumbling away at me on a daily basis.

Bovril
03-03-2002, 05:41 AM
Sue,
there is some software you can buy that will tell you if someone trying to ring,

the blurb on the box says never miss another call while on the internet again

don't know whats its like,

me, I'd rather play here than talk to people trying to sell me double glazing on the phone

p.s it also might be my M-I-L so its best don't answer!!

AngieUK
03-03-2002, 05:44 AM
Anyone ringing me these days knows to call my mobile :D

LouiseB
03-03-2002, 06:02 AM
One solution to not having two lines, is to have a cable modem installed, which is what we have. It doesn't take up a telephone line and also gives you permanent high speed internet access, without having to dial in, as the connection is always there. We bought the modem for 150 but they can be rented through the cable company, and pay 25 per month for access, no other costs. I have to say, that I was very reluctant at first to part with the money, however, I would not go back to dial up access now if you paid me!

Janice
03-03-2002, 06:22 AM
I have BT's Home Highway :)

I find it suits me fine as we have our office at home so I have one line in for the phone, one for the fax and the ISDN connection for the PC which is a really fast connection.

We then have the ordinary BT line into the house.

We are moving soon and have just arranged for the same configuration at our new house as the PC has the ISDN Modem fitted.

It costs me about 15 per month for Internet Access 24/7 and as I use if for work as well, do all my banking etc. etc. it works our really good value for money for us :)

Astrid
03-03-2002, 10:39 AM
I've put my mobile number on to my 1571 answer message so my theory is if it's that important people will ring me on that! :)

Astrid x