PDA

View Full Version : Can they do this? Legal question

PoohJen
09-30-2007, 01:27 PM
yeah, yeah, I'm a lawyer, but this isn't my area of expertise...

Yesterday at DS10's soccer game, a boy handed out flyers that were advertising action shots from that day's games. You go to their website, see if there are any pictures of your child, and then you can buy that picture.

I looked around and sure enough, down near the end of the field was a photographer with a very nice, pro-looking lens. I asked him (didn't mean to be confrontational) about whether he could legally do this.

He responded "it's public property, I can take these pictures".

I didn't dispute this, I disputed whether he could publish pictures of my child - and SELL them - over the internet.

He responded "I don't publish them". Yes you do, you post them on the internet. It says so in your advertisement.

"A 3d party vendor hosts the website." Uh. duh. You contract with that vendor to put them on the internet for you; doesn't make a difference!

We ended the conversation amicably, but I know that neither of us know what the real scoop is here.

So, the question is:

Can someone take unsolicited pictures of minors - i.e., SPECIFICALLY taking pictures of individual kids - post them openly on the internet and then sell them to anyone who wants one?

This field is used by the city recreation dept. (there's a sharing arrangement, I can't say for sure that it is public property). This was a simple, 10 year old recreation league. I'm reminded of that pedophile in the news recently, taking pictures of little girls in parks. Had he sold them on the internet (these would just be park pics, not lewd), would that be ok? :confused3

milkabum
09-30-2007, 01:30 PM
I'm only 13, so I don't know, but if at school they hand out image release forms, I don't see how this situation is any different.