PDA

View Full Version : Grand Cayman - Tour/Pirate Encounter Question??


5infam
09-06-2007, 08:40 AM
When we were looking at the Grand Cayman excursions, we wanted to book 2 things - The Grand Cayman Island Tour (the shorter of the 2 tours) and the Pirate Encounter. When I went to make the ressies, I was unable to book both. The early Pirate encounter ended at 10:45 am - and the Tour started at 11:30, but the reservation system said they conflicted. I am wondering if this is a system issue where they won't let you book 2 things too close together - but maybe I will actually be able to do both. Anyone been on the early Pirate Encounter - can you confirm when you got back? I am assuming the Tour leaves from the dock where you would return from the Pirate Encounter, but I am not sure - so if someone can confirm that also - that would be great. Also, curious as to what you thought of both of these excursions. We have 3 kids, DS 16, DS 8 and DD5.

Thanks!!

bonnielynn
09-06-2007, 01:09 PM
:rolleyes: It did the same thing to me.. so I decided to do the pirate ship... booked it and was all set to catch a cab and do something later.. until I got a call.. the ship needed repairs and that excursion was cancelled... :rolleyes:

Not sure what is the deal with the system.. I even called and they said you have to give it 1 1/2 hours between to book two..

Downrivermama
09-06-2007, 02:23 PM
DD and I did the pirate encounter in Feb. A tender picked us up at the ship and took us over to the pirate ship. After they tendered us to the dock where the main shopping area is. It was great fun! It was over by 10:30 or so.

Maybe the online system can only accept one excursion a day. Once on the ship you could check to see if you could book something for the afternoon then.

Laurabearz
09-06-2007, 05:49 PM
:rolleyes: It did the same thing to me.. so I decided to do the pirate ship... booked it and was all set to catch a cab and do something later.. until I got a call.. the ship needed repairs and that excursion was cancelled... :rolleyes:

Not sure what is the deal with the system.. I even called and they said you have to give it 1 1/2 hours between to book two..

Was it canceled for your upcoming cruise??

Just wondering because I have the pirate encounter booked for the Oct 6th cruise... (no call for me, but I would like a back up plan if they do call)

Thanks

5infam
09-06-2007, 08:59 PM
DD and I did the pirate encounter in Feb. A tender picked us up at the ship and took us over to the pirate ship. After they tendered us to the dock where the main shopping area is. It was great fun! It was over by 10:30 or so.

Maybe the online system can only accept one excursion a day. Once on the ship you could check to see if you could book something for the afternoon then.

Awesome - it sounds like you did the 8:15 start time, and you were there during a potentially cold month (we are there for Thanksgiving) - so I have to ask you how it was going swimming on the second half of the excursion at that time of the morning? I am fine with it, but my wife says she is concerned the kids will be too cold to go swimming that early in the AM. I really think she doesn't want to get out of bed in time to get everyone fed and be readt by 8:30...but that is another story:lmao:

WiscBill
09-06-2007, 09:07 PM
When we were looking at the Grand Cayman excursions, we wanted to book 2 things - The Grand Cayman Island Tour (the shorter of the 2 tours) and the Pirate Encounter. When I went to make the ressies, I was unable to book both. The early Pirate encounter ended at 10:45 am - and the Tour started at 11:30, but the reservation system said they conflicted. I am wondering if this is a system issue where they won't let you book 2 things too close together - but maybe I will actually be able to do both. Anyone been on the early Pirate Encounter - can you confirm when you got back? I am assuming the Tour leaves from the dock where you would return from the Pirate Encounter, but I am not sure - so if someone can confirm that also - that would be great. Also, curious as to what you thought of both of these excursions. We have 3 kids, DS 16, DS 8 and DD5.

Thanks!!

I believe that if you are booking the excursions in advance directly on-line with DCL they will not allow you to book two excursions on the same day no matter how far apart they are. Once on-board, the excursion desk may allow you to book a second excursion for the same day, however they will warn you that if for any reason your first excursion runs late, they will not refund the money for the second excursion.

bonnielynn
09-07-2007, 06:16 AM
Was it canceled for your upcoming cruise??

Just wondering because I have the pirate encounter booked for the Oct 6th cruise... (no call for me, but I would like a back up plan if they do call)

Thanks

Yes the pirate excursion was cancelled for my trip (9/8-9/15). Got a call about 2 days ago.

Laurabearz
09-07-2007, 08:23 AM
So sorry to hear it. But YOUR LEAVING TOMORROW Woot Woot !!!:banana:

bonnielynn
09-07-2007, 11:24 AM
So sorry to hear it. But YOUR LEAVING TOMORROW Woot Woot !!!:banana:



:banana: :banana: :banana: YEAH.... :banana: :banana: :banana:

Downrivermama
09-07-2007, 01:08 PM
Awesome - it sounds like you did the 8:15 start time, and you were there during a potentially cold month (we are there for Thanksgiving) - so I have to ask you how it was going swimming on the second half of the excursion at that time of the morning? I am fine with it, but my wife says she is concerned the kids will be too cold to go swimming that early in the AM. I really think she doesn't want to get out of bed in time to get everyone fed and be readt by 8:30...but that is another story:lmao:

It was very warm and humid that morning. I'm glad we did the morning as I think the sun would of been hotter in the afternoon. DD did swim and she didn't say she was cold. A couple of adults said it was a bit cold on the first jump but after that it was fine. You can "Walk the Plank!"

gottagoo
09-09-2007, 10:21 AM
other than walking the plank what else did everyone like? also i'm prone to seasickness and i'm wondering if i should just send dd and dh?

Marypoppinsiam
09-09-2007, 04:20 PM
We are on the same cruise as you and we planned the pirate excursion for 10:45am.