PDA

View Full Version : So What's so great about WDW?

wendymom22
06-23-2007, 05:33 PM
I've convinced my dh we need to at "least" go for a day or so next time we visit my retired parents in St. Augustine. Our girls are 6 & 4, and we're looking at early August for the trip.

My problem: I haven't been since 1980 - I was in highschool and it was just 1 day. So while we're going "for the girls" I'm more interested than DH, yet I'm still looking at WDW as an "amusement park" and I know DH thinks of it as a "kiddy place". We need to book plane tickets asap (yesterday?) but I'm not sure for how long since we're splitting time between my parents and WDW and I've got NO IDEA how long we should plan for WDW.

I'm flying blind... I'd love to get a summary of what makes WDW interesting for an adult (I see post saying it isn't just an amusement park) -- why is it such an attraction? And for total newbies with a 2 young girls, how long should we plan to stay? DH thinks 2 days is more than enough... is he right?

dburg30
06-23-2007, 05:48 PM
If you are just planning on doing magic kingdom, you can probably do that in 2 days.

What an 'adult' gets out of it, will depend greatly from what they ALLOW themselves to get out of it. I know from reading trip reports from couples, talking to my brother and sis in law who have gone a few times by themselves, I know 'adults' can have a blast!! The secret is being able to let go and 'be 10 years old' again :). This is all just my opinion from reading and talking to other folks. If you've read any of this board much I'm sure you know how folks plan for this months in advance.

Do your girls like the whole princess thing? IMO, if you can still get ressies for it, and you can get there in the AM, I would consider trying to get Cinderella's Royal Table for breakfast for your daughters. Being as you wont be able to spend many days there, if you could pull that off, if they like them, I think that would be a GREAT thing for them.

popcorn::