PDA

View Full Version : educate me about rental cars...(please!)

ldhr2005
12-27-2006, 03:03 PM
hard to believe i know, but i have never rented a vehicle. this is my first time taking a baby to disney, so i thought for the ease of being able to go to the grocery store, avoiding having to hop back to downtown disney at night after eating at a resort different than where we are staying, ect...that we would rent a car. but, i have no clue if it truly ends up being worth it. btw, the baby is 5 months old. also, do you get the liability insurance/collison..or are you covered under your own private insurance...any help would be greatly appreciated!!! thanks!

taimgxe
12-27-2006, 03:13 PM
I wouldn't waste your money on any of the rental insurance. Your own auto insurance should take care of any problems... (Unless you are renting some high-end vehicle, then you may want to get insurance) Don't forget your carseat!!! Don't let the rental agent at the desk "encourage" you to upsize. That probably means that they are out of the class you reserved and are trying to upsell you to the next one. You should be given the next car class if they are out without having to pay more. If you have never rented before, I would highly suggest for you to examine the exterior and interior of the car before taking possession of it and notifying the agent before you leave the lot of any areas of concern. ie: (big scratches, dents, marks on the seats or dash) Also, I would not recommend you buying the fuel upfront from the agency. Just make sure you return the vehicle full by buying gas at the closest location.

Disneyjosh229
12-27-2006, 04:05 PM
Also, I recommend signing up for one of the freqent renter programs to avoid the hardsell on the LDW Insurance and to also move things along...

safetymom
12-27-2006, 06:20 PM
I would check with your insurance company to see if you are covered for the extra insurance. Also check with your credit cards to see if they offer the extra insurance for free.