PDA

View Full Version : Would you recommend Alltel Simple Freedom Prepaid Cell Phones?


Miss Kelly
08-02-2006, 04:04 PM
I'm looking at this phone >>>> http://www.walmart.com/catalog/product.do?product_id=4184111

I really just need a cell phone for emergencies. Any info would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks! :sunny:

Free4Life11
08-02-2006, 05:26 PM
My mom has it. If you are roaming you have to double dial! I think it's stupid because if you have the number in your phone book you have to dial, then dial it again...are you supposed to memorize all the numbers? Stupid!

NotUrsula
08-02-2006, 05:30 PM
VirginMobileUSA has what appears to be that same phone on offer right now free if you buy $40 worth of minutes. I've used VM phones for several years now and I'm happy with them. Once your initial outlay is done, you can keep the account alive for $60/yr. http://www.virginmobileusa.com/phones/phoneDetail.do?skuId=VM2125

Also, the Alltel plan has "roaming" areas, which most prepaid phones don't have; I'd stick to companies that charge the same amount for all domestic calls. Roaming is evil.

Miss Kelly
08-02-2006, 05:43 PM
VirginMobileUSA has what appears to be that same phone on offer right now free if you buy $40 worth of minutes. I've used VM phones for several years now and I'm happy with them. Once your initial outlay is done, you can keep the account alive for $60/yr. http://www.virginmobileusa.com/phones/phoneDetail.do?skuId=VM2125

Also, the Alltel plan has "roaming" areas, which most prepaid phones don't have; I'd stick to companies that charge the same amount for all domestic calls. Roaming is evil.

Unfortunately, VirginMobileUSA doesn't service my area. I used their coverage area map and it says place not found. :confused3

Miss Kelly
08-02-2006, 05:58 PM
My mom has it. If you are roaming you have to double dial! I think it's stupid because if you have the number in your phone book you have to dial, then dial it again...are you supposed to memorize all the numbers? Stupid!

Does your Mom enjoy her phone? Double Dial wouldn't be too big of a deal to me because I plan on just using it for emergencies. Do you have to put a set amount of minutes on it per month? Thanks.

Muushka
08-02-2006, 09:41 PM
We have a Alltel prepaid plan for my husband's phone. It costs us 25 cents a month. That is the price to keep the phone activated. otherwise it would be $4 a month plus 25 cents a minute.

The phone is perfect for his needs. It is there for emergencies, not to chat and it works fine in this area. However, we cannot use it in FL which is where we need a cell phone. That is why I got a Virgin phone.

So depending on what you need, this may do fine.

Miss Kelly
08-02-2006, 09:46 PM
We have a Alltel prepaid plan for my husband's phone. It costs us 25 cents a month. That is the price to keep the phone activated. otherwise it would be $4 a month plus 25 cents a minute.

The phone is perfect for his needs. It is there for emergencies, not to chat and it works fine in this area. However, we cannot use it in FL which is where we need a cell phone. That is why I got a Virgin phone.

So depending on what you need, this may do fine.

Thanks for the reply.

Since you are somewhat near me (I live in Southwest Virginia), can you tell me how the reception is? And how do you pay the monthly charge to keep it active? Is it automatically deducted or what?

Muushka
08-03-2006, 10:54 AM
Thanks for the reply.

Since you are somewhat near me (I live in Southwest Virginia), can you tell me how the reception is? And how do you pay the monthly charge to keep it active? Is it automatically deducted or what?

The reception is fine, but we live in a busy area (Triangle). If we leave this area the signal is spotty. Alltel has a map of covered areas on this plan. I would look closely at it.

In order to avoid the $4 a month fee to keep it activated you just have to make 1 phone call.

We put $20 on the phone last year and technically (if I didn't forget to make that 1 monthly call!) we should still have about $17 left on it. Like I said, he rarely uses that phone.

Miss Kelly
08-03-2006, 01:39 PM
The reception is fine, but we live in a busy area (Triangle). If we leave this area the signal is spotty. Alltel has a map of covered areas on this plan. I would look closely at it.

In order to avoid the $4 a month fee to keep it activated you just have to make 1 phone call.

We put $20 on the phone last year and technically (if I didn't forget to make that 1 monthly call!) we should still have about $17 left on it. Like I said, he rarely uses that phone.

Thanks so much for answering my questions! :sunny: