PDA

View Full Version : I'm a New Cruiser!

Fairy_Tale_Bride
07-20-2006, 02:25 AM
I am hoping I can get some info. This will be my first cruise and I am confused. I'd like to know exactly how things work. :) We are planning on the 4-night cruise and I was just wondering exactly how much time is spent at each spot...Nassau & Castaway Cay? Also, how much time is there really to do the activities? I don't understand when you set up the tours, etc. Is this before you get on the ship, while on board, or once you get to the destination? My final question...exactly how do meals work off and on the ship? Are you given a schedule when to be at a specific spot, etc. I'm a newbie and lost! Hope I can get some great info. Thanks! :boat:

DrCavin
07-20-2006, 08:06 AM
At the top of the board is a link to recent navigators, those will list the arrival/departure times for the various ports. At Castaway Cay your on the island from ~9:00 am to 4:30pm

You can arrange excursions prior to sailing using DCL's website - first time cruisers can do this 75 days prior to sailing, 90 for repeaters & 105 for Category 1-3 stateroom guests. You can also book them on-board the ship, but you do chance the excursion being sold out.

Breakfast, lunch & dinner are provided on the ship. Breakfast & lunch you can either do a buffet or one of the three restruants will have open seating for the day. For dinner you are assigned a table & rotate through the 3 restruants. Off the ship your on your own for food.

After reading DIS for a few weeks, you will be an expert at this cruising stuff ;)

mom x4,grandma x4
07-20-2006, 09:05 AM
Hi,
There is a book you can buy called the Passporter which will help you a lot. Also go to DCL's web site and order the free DVD they offer. It is also a wealth of information for new cruisers.