PDA

View Full Version : OT--buying land

rparmfamily
06-17-2006, 10:38 PM
Has anyone bought land, for future building?

We are thinking of buying some property in the NE (Vermont or NH) and building a summer home eventually. Not sure how to even start though.

dznyacct
06-17-2006, 11:56 PM
We bought 12 acres about 10 years ago with the intent to build a home. Well, in the summer of 2001 we gathered up all of our construction bids and I about had a heart attack at the final cost :scared1: . I am an Accountant and pretty conservative in my personal comfort zone when it comes to expenses. After a long talk, we decided that is was best to sell the land and build somewhere closer to our jobs/families. My MIL is a realtor, so she helped us find the land (and then sell it :) ). It was hard to sell the property , but we made more than 100% profit on it after having it for 6 years :thumbsup2 , which made a VERY nice down payment on our new house that we had built 3 years ago. Good luck in your search!

jeankeri
06-18-2006, 06:11 AM
Being from VT, land prices here have gone out of control. This is dependent on how build up the area is and how the school system rates where you are looking. There are some reasonable lots in very rural communities or very built up sprawl communities. To buy land I believe you need 40% down. Also, VT has very strict septic laws- there are very few towns with town sewage. You have to make sure the lot will 'perk' or you will not be able to place a septic system, and you cannot build. Lastly, the cost to run electric is $100/foot underground. Nice, secluded lots are very expensive to get electricity to. All local realtors will have land listings. Have you investigated areas you are interested in?

rparmfamily
06-18-2006, 07:05 AM