PDA

View Full Version : rainbo tronics..does the name say it all???


jann1033
06-02-2006, 04:42 PM
has anyone ever used Rainbo Tronics for cameras and such?..they have good prices and decent ratings ( but so did butterfly and they were crabs) but am always leary bout online places. hoping rainbo is the guy's name other wise kind of a stupid name for a store
__________________

Kelly Grannell
06-02-2006, 05:00 PM
first time I've ever heard of that name. "Interesting" name to say the least.

Anewman
06-02-2006, 05:40 PM
has anyone ever used Rainbo Tronics for cameras and such?..they have good prices and decent ratings ( but so did butterfly and they were crabs) but am always leary bout online places. hoping rainbo is the guy's name other wise kind of a stupid name for a store
__________________


Honestly if their price is much lower than Buydig/Beachcamera, I would be very carefull.

jann1033
06-02-2006, 07:12 PM
ok i also wondered about buydig...is it buy .com that is not so good> i did just get my daughter a camera from beach and they were great and almost as cheap as the cheapest ( but always hate to pass up a bargain if it really is one)

JR6ooo4
06-02-2006, 10:33 PM
Check:
http://www.resellerratings.com/
I did not find them listed. Might be a spelling issue.
Mikeeee

Anewman
06-03-2006, 02:20 AM
ok i also wondered about buydig...is it buy .com that is not so good> i did just get my daughter a camera from beach and they were great and almost as cheap as the cheapest ( but always hate to pass up a bargain if it really is one)

Buydig is registered to Beach trading comp(Beach Camera). And if you compare websites and inventory they are almost Identical.

jfulcer
06-04-2006, 12:06 AM
I'm sorry, where did you hear or see about Rainbo Tronics? I've done all kinds of searches on all kinds of different search engines and only find a single reference:

http://www.slickdeals.net/forums/showthread.php?sduid=0&t=202455

which links Rainbo Tronics to a really bad photo shop usaphotonation. this most likely is one of the row stores that I've heard about in NYC that do bait and switch type tactics. IE you order but then they call and say it's a foreign version and there is no manual and warranty but you can get them for $100-200 more...

If you can point me to where you saw them I will do a little more searching, but I simply did not find them. Which is kinda telling in and of itself, KWIM?

jann1033
06-04-2006, 07:41 AM
it was on one of the price search places ...i'll see if i can figure out which one

http://steves-digicams.pgpartner.com/search_getprod.php/masterid=8592392/fd=1
i guess i spelled it wrong although i could have swore there was no "w"...reminded me of the old "unicorn and butterfly are so cool" days which is why i thought it was so dumb
found it here but i think some other ones to..i'll probably just stick with Beach since they were great, prompt and nice to deal with,,, :) unless someone has a great deal

jfulcer
06-04-2006, 01:23 PM
Ok,that helped. RainbowTronics is a re-incarnation of USA Photo Nation. You can read comments as to how they are linked (through the Web site registration) here:

http://sheddingsomelight.com/buy-cameras/list/dealers-rafam.html

Even funnier is there is a link on that page that shows New York Camera Dealers. Here is a picture of RainbowTronics' storefront:

http://donwiss.com/pictures/BrooklynStores/w0224.jpg

I dunno if I'd buy from them. ;)

jfulcer
06-04-2006, 01:32 PM
The one just above it - onenewconnection.com - also has quite a dubious history and reputation. I'd stay with your thought about buying from a familiar source and paying a little more to not be taken to the cleaners...