View Full Version : ALERT: Romanian Disney Ticket Scammers on eBay
Goatman
04-17-2006, 05:19 PM
Hi!
I Joined here in order to warn folks that the Romanian scammers on eBay are selling tickets to Disney World and Disney Land. they are offering tremendous deals, but you get nothing after you pay.
:sad2:
Here is one website they are using to dupe would-be Disney attendees. I can't post it because I'm new here but...
w*w*w.godisney-dot-net (you get the picture...)
(Notice the first line: "All the order on the site have to be a minimum of $200 because high shipping taxes")
(Pulll-ease!) :rotfl2:
Is there anyone here who can steer me to an email address or phone number for Disney Security? I have googled "Disney Security" to no avail.
It looks like there are hundreds of innocent families being scammed by these bad guys! pirate:
punkin712
04-18-2006, 06:39 AM
My rule is "never trust a website with typos or poor grammar." It's funny that the Disney website doesn't offer any email addresses, but they would probably receive thousands every day and never get through them all.
Anyhoo...here's the email address for Press related questions: TWDC.CorpCommunications@disney.com
Maybe they can forward the information to the right place.
Good luck and thanks for looking out for your fellow DISers! :thumbsup2
Grumpy's Wife
04-18-2006, 05:50 PM
Thanks for the heads up.
byoung
04-18-2006, 08:36 PM
Thanks. By the way WELCOME TO THE DIS!!!
RDCAnthony
04-22-2006, 09:04 PM
Thanks for taking the time to let everyone know :thumbsup2
4theloveofdisney
04-22-2006, 11:17 PM
Thanks and welcome! I personally would never order from E-bay just becuase there isn't a guarantee. People need to know this though and it's great of you to share!
playwright
04-24-2006, 01:18 AM
Goatman,
Thanks for the heads up. I've only bought one item from eBay (hockey tix) and had no problems. However, I am wary. There are tons of Disney-area condos, timeshares, etc. for sale on eBay and I was tempted to stay off-site to save $. There were several for the Disney resorts yesterday when I checked, they seemed to be good deals. Has anyone bought travel off of eBay and had a good exp? This is all new to this newbie.
2nd childhood
04-24-2006, 01:33 AM
Thanks for the warning. My brother purchased his Disney tickets from eBay last year against my advice, but everything turned out okay for him. He’s planning on doing it again this trip and I just know he’s going to get burned soon. He buys a great deal of items from eBay. He even purchased a truck! Some people are just more “trusting” of strangers than I am I suppose.
canwegosoon
04-24-2006, 08:06 AM
Thank you :thumbsup2
Goatman
04-28-2006, 10:06 PM
Thanks for the welcome everyone.
I and a few friends emailed "GoDiz" and ask lots of questions and in every response, he wanted Western Union transfers for the tickets.
:smooth:
Here's a handy tip for eBay. Go to Read Notify Dott Com (all one word) and register for free email tracking. They let you trace 25 emails for free, so it won't cost you a thing, plus I have never received a single piece of spam from them.
Anyway, you simply tack their address at the end of the address you send your reply to and ReadNotify will send you a trace-- including a cool MAP -- when the addressee opens it. If he forwards it,you will find out where he sent it to!
So if it's read in Dragasani or Bucharest, Romania, you'll know the eBayer is a scammer.
:furious:
In over 800+ eBay scams I have checked out, 98% of them originated in Romania. Romanians are very nice folks, there's just a small percentage of them who have decided to help themselves to the trust observed by most eBay people.
Thanks for the Disney address-- I'll try them to see if they can shut down our "Go Disney" friends in Romania!
Sammie
04-28-2006, 11:07 PM
How can you tell which tickets these are on Ebay, your website link does not work.
cowtownmom
04-28-2006, 11:43 PM
If they are scamming on ebay, then ebay needs to be notified. They can at least boot these people off.
Adrienne
04-30-2006, 06:10 AM
just be very careful on Ebay... thats all i have to say
Adrienne :wizard:
kimberh
05-09-2006, 12:14 AM
bumping
mech19488
05-12-2006, 09:26 AM
This is only a test. Please do not stand-by. I have no cookies for you.
randoname5768
05-12-2006, 09:29 AM
Message
vBulletin® v3.8.4, Copyright ©2000-2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.