PDA

View Full Version : Ebay & Money Orders

Kayla's Mom
01-30-2006, 09:26 AM
I would really appreciate some help here. I am fairly new to selling on Ebay and I only accept Paypal. A potential buyer (with a feedback score of 0) emailed me asking if I would take a money order. I am not sure how money orders work, but from doing a search on these forums I read that I should wait for the MO to clear just like I would a personal check.

How long should I wait to make sure the MO clears and what if it doesn't clear, I am assuming I would get charged a fee by my bank? This is for an item under 20 dollars BTW. Any feedback would be appreciated.

TIA!! :wave2:

Callalily6
01-30-2006, 09:42 AM
Hi! You could request that the MO be sent from BidPay - and online MO company. My main problem with eBay people and MO is that they never send the payment. BidPay takes the effort out of it for them and BidPay mails you the payment and lets you know it was sent. Also, most of my MO people try PayPal when I tell them it works in their favor if the transaction gets messed up (it works in my favor too). Most then sign up for PayPal. But, if the person doesnt want to do BidPay you could tell them that they need to provide a tracking number on the payment within 24 hours of the auctions close. That seems to keep deadbeats from bidding. And then I usually wait 48 hours before I ship. Hope that helps! Good luck with your eBAy biz!

CJMickeyMouse
01-30-2006, 09:50 AM
I am one of those non-paypal ebay buyers.... I regularly send money orders (or did when I was buying items regularly). I would have no problem with you waiting until the MO cleared to send the item..... If I were you I would just ask your bank how long it would take and check back with them to be sure.

Good luck!

LisaNJ25
01-30-2006, 09:53 AM
You can also ask for a USPS money order only. From what I have read those seem to be safer.

HayGan
01-30-2006, 09:54 AM